
 

CPCOS-01, New 3/13 
STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER PROTECTION 
T R A D E  P R A C T I C E S  D I V I S I O N 
Telephone: (860) 713-6100 
WebSite: www.state.ct.us/dcp/ 
 

APPLICATION FOR CLOSING-OUT SALE LICENSE 
INSTRUCTIONS:   
The individual applying for licensure must complete this form.   This application must be accompanied by a check or 
money order for $200.00, made payable to: “Treasurer, State of Connecticut”.   
“The Federal Privacy Act of 1974 requires that you be notified that disclosure of your Social Security Number is required pursuant to C.G.S. §17b-137a. If 
you choose not to disclose your Social Security Number your application cannot be processed. 
è Return your completed application and fee to: 
Department of Consumer Protection, License Services Division, 165 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 

 

Store Name 
  
 
Store Street Address City or Town State Zip Code 

Company Name (if different from above) 

Company Street Address City or Town State Zip Code 

Telephone Number (with area code) 
 

Social Security or FEIN Number  CT Sales Tax Registration Number 

List the names , home addresses and titles of all persons associated in the ownership of the business: 
Name 
 

Address 
 

Title 

Name Address Title 

Name  Address Title 

Is the applicant the owner of the merchandise? 
Yes   No  If no, please attach a written explanation 

Did you purchase the merchandise or the business specifically for this sale? 
Yes   No  If  yes, please attach complete details pertaining to acquisition 

 Type of business for which license is requested: Description of merchandise to be sold: 

Indicate your advertising format  (i.e., Going out of business, moving, liquidation) Specify the dates of the sale (not to exceed 90 days) 
 

From _______________ To _______________ 
Will a promoter be used for this sale? 

Yes   No 
If yes, list the promoter(s) name and registration number below and refer to instructions. 

Indicate the total wholesale cost value of merchandise as 
set forth in the attached itemized inventory: 
                              $ 

Warehouse Location (if applicable) 

Indicate the name and address of person(s) to whom the special deposit should be returned and payable to: 
Name (First Name, Middle Initial, Last Name) Company Name 

Street Address City or Town State Zip Code 

 
 

I swear that the answers and statements in the foregoing application are true to the best of my knowledge.  Further, I understand the 
conditions under which this license is issued, and that “special sales” as defined under Section 21-33 will offer no goods, wares, or 
merchandise other than those actually on hand in the place whereat such sale is to be conducted at the opening thereof. 
 
_______________________________________________________                 _____________________ 
Signature of Applicant                                   Date 
 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this _______ day of ____________________ 20_______ 
 
_______________________________________________________                 _____________________ 
Notary Public     My Commission Expires 

For Official Use Only 



 
      

 
Instructions and Information 

Itinerant Vendor & Managing Itinerant Vendor License Application 
 

Chapter 407 of the Connecticut General Statutes  
 

 “Itinerant Vendor” means any person, whether principal or agent, who engages in a temporary or transient 
business in this state, either in one locality or in traveling from place to place, selling goods, wares and 
merchandise and who, for the purpose of carrying on such business, hires, leases, or occupies any building 
or structure for the exhibition and sale of such goods, wares, and merchandise; “Managing Itinerant 
Vendor” means any person who conducts, manages, or organizes a show of itinerant vendors for purposes 
of exhibition and sale at any location which is open to the general public at which goods, wares, or 
merchandise are on display and offered for sale by any vendors;  “Temporary or transient business” 
means and includes any exhibition and sale of goods, wares, or merchandise which is carried on in any tent, 
booth, building, or other structure, unless such place is open for business during usual business hours for a 
period of at least nine months in each year. 
 
 
Please be aware of the following provisions of the law: 
 
1. Each itinerant vendor or managing itinerant vendor shall display in a conspicuous manner in all printed 

advertisements, the license number and the name under which the license is issued. 
 
2. At lease ten (10) days prior to the commencement of any organized show of itinerant vendors, each  

Managing Itinerant Vendor must submit a list of participating vendors to the Department of Consumer 
Protection.  The list of participating itinerant vendors in each show must be maintained by the managing 
itinerant vendor for a period of one year and shall be made available to this Department within ten days of 
written notice. 

 
3. Any itinerant vendor who participates in any show under the direction and control of a managing itinerant 

vendor shall be deemed to be an agent of the managing itinerant vendor and shall not be required to 
obtain an individual itinerant vendor license. 

 
4. The Commissioner may revoke, suspend, or refuse to issue an itinerant vendor license or a managing 

itinerant vendor license to any person who (a) engages in conduct of a character likely to mislead, 
deceive, or defraud the public or the Commissioner; (b) engages in any untruthful or misleading 
advertising; or (c) violates any provision of the General Statutes relating to the Itinerant Vendor’s Act or 
any regulation adopted pursuant to Section 21-33 or 42-110b of the Connecticut General Statutes. 

 
5. Before selling under the state license in any town, city or borough, each itinerant vendor or managing 

itinerant vendor shall make an application for a municipal license to the selectmen or other authority of 
such town, city or borough. 

 
6. According to Connecticut General Statutes Section 21-33, if you advertise, represent, or hold forth a sale 

as designated in Section 21-33, including those represented as an Insurance, Bankrupt, Insolvent, 
Assignee’s, Trustee’s, Executor’s, Administrator’s, Receiver’s, Wholesale or Manufacturer’s sale or as a 
sale of any goods damaged by smoke, fire, water or otherwise or in any similar form, you must compile 
an inventory of goods, wares, or merchandise on hand at the place where the sale is to be 
conducted and have sworn to it. 

 
7. Worker’s Compensation Insurance is required by Section 31-286a of the Connecticut General Statutes if 

any license applicant has employees in the State of Connecticut. 
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