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Instructions for Liquor Brand Label Registration  
 
Application Form 
    

 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
Labels 
 

 

 Attach federal label approval for each brand(s) requesting registration. 
 

 Attach one label for each brand (product) requesting registration.  If the label is painted and/or silk screened 
on the bottle, please provide a color photograph of each label. 

 

 In order for a label to be considered a private label, the registrant must furnish the department with the name 
and address of the retailer who will sell such brand.  Any labels submitted for registration without such 
accompanying information shall be considered to be for general distribution. 

 

 When alcoholic beverages are imported into the United States, the labels should bear the registrant’s name as 
to the importer.  A d/b/a may be used, however, documentation must be submitted indicating a business 
name is to be used by the registrant. 

 

 An independent laboratory analysis or notarized statement of the beer, wine and/or liquor detailing the alcohol 
type and proof must be submitted for each product. 

 

 If the registrant is not the manufacturer of the product, authorization for the manufacturer must be submitted 
with the application. 

 

 In regard to wines, different vintages do not have to be registered, only different brands (varietels). 
 

 When changing the proof of a product, you must re-register the brand. 
 

 Decanter registrations; all of the requirements apply, except for the fee.  If the contents have been previously 
approved, the fee is exempt, however a photograph of the decanter must accompany the brand registration 
application. 

 

 The Connecticut General Statutes requires that containers of beer or other malt beverages sold in Connecticut 
be labeled with deposit and refund information as an environmental control.  While this agency does not review 
labels for this information, it is your responsibility to ensure that your labeling meets these requirements.  For 
more information, contact the Department of Energy & Environmental Protection at www.ct.gov/deep.  

 
UNIMERC Brand Code Numbers 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Appointment of Distributors 
 
 
 
 

Fees 
 
 
 
 

Mail 
 

 

 The company name, address, Connecticut liquor permit number and email address must be indicated on the 
application form.  The email address provided will be for all correspondence, the approval of the label, 
application deficiencies, etc. 

   

 The brand label registration application form must be completed with the full brand label name(s).   
 

 Appointment of Distributors for each brand label requesting registration must accompany this application.  
The exact geographic area must be stated in the appointment letter.   

 

 UNIMERC brand code numbers are no longer a requirement to obtain a liquor brand registration from this 
Department. 

 

 The fee for a registrant located in Connecticut or located Out-of-State is $200.00 per label.  The fee for 
products manufactured in the State of Connecticut by a Connecticut Manufacturer is $15.00 per label. 

 

 The completed application, all applicable documentation and fee is to be mailed to the address indicated on 
the application.  Questions can be emailed to dcp.brands@ct.gov.   


