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Fees and Standards for Issuing ‘‘Keep Kids Safe’’ Motor
Vehicle Number Plates

Sec. 14-21f-1. Definitions
As used in Sections 14-21f-1 to 14-21f-6, inclusive:
(1) ‘‘Commissioner’’ means the commissioner of motor vehicles, or his designee;
(2) ‘‘Keep Kids Safe account’’ means the account established in accordance with

Section 2 of Public Act 95-275;
(3) ‘‘Keep Kids Safe Number Plate’’ means an official motor vehicle registration

marker plate issued by the commissioner in accordance with the provisions of
Section 1 of Public Act 95-275;

(4) ‘‘Low number plate’’ means a number plate issued by the commissioner in
accordance with section 14-160 of the general statutes;

(5) ‘‘Number plate’’ means an official marker furnished by the commissioner
on which is displayed the registration number assigned to a motor vehicle by
the commissioner;

(6) ‘‘Person’’ means a person as defined in section 14-1(a) (61) of the general
statutes eligible to register a motor vehicle;

(7) ‘‘Registration’’ means registration of a motor vehicle with the commissioner
in accordance with Part III (A) of Chapter 246 of the general statutes, and includes
the certificate of registration and the number plate or plates used in connection with
said registration;

(8) ‘‘Vanity plate’’ means a number plate issued by the commissioner in accord-
ance with section 14-49(s) of the general statutes.

(Effective December 20, 1996)

Sec. 14-21f-2. Design of number plates
(a) The Keep Kids Safe Number Plate shall be of a design to enhance public

awareness of the state’s effort to protect the safety of children, which design shall
be selected in a manner to be determined by the commissioner.

(b) The commissioner may determine the design of the Keep Kids Safe Number
Plate by a contest which he coordinates.

(Effective December 20, 1996)

Sec. 14-21f-3. Application
(a) A person shall apply for a Keep Kids Safe Number Plate by filing an application

in writing with the commissioner, and paying the amount as specified in Section
14-21f-4 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies.

(b) A person having a low number plate, a vanity plate, or a previously issued
passenger number plate may transfer the registration to a Keep Kids Safe Number
Plate. For such transfer the person shall pay only the amount provided in accordance
with subsection (b) of Section 14-21f-4 of the Regulations of Connecticut State
Agencies.

(Effective December 20, 1996)

Sec. 14-21f-4. Fees
A person who applies for a Keep Kids Safe Number Plate shall pay the following

amount which shall be in addition to registration fees required by law, and shall be
deposited in the Keep Kids Safe account:

(a) Fifty dollars ($50.00) for a number plate with numbers and letters selected
by the commissioner, which includes a donation to the Keep Kids Safe account of
thirty-five dollars ($35.00);
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(b) Seventy dollars ($70.00) for a low number plate or a vanity plate, including
the transfer of the numbers and letters from a previously issued passenger number
plate, which includes a donation to the Keep Kids Safe account of fifty-five dol-
lars ($55.00);

(c) The commissioner may conduct an auction or lottery for a limited number of
Keep Kids Safe Number Plates, with numbers and letters selected by the commis-
sioner, to benefit the Keep Kids Safe account. Such auction or lottery shall be
public, and shall be advertised in at least two (2) newspapers of general circulation
in the State. Each such number plate may be bid separately, and shall be awarded
to the high bidder, or if there is more than one such bid, by lot to one of the high
bidders. A minimum bid of one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00) shall be made for
each plate, of which one hundred thirty-five dollars ($135.00) shall be a donation
to the Keep Kids Safe account. A person whose bid is higher than the minimum
bid shall be requested to donate the additional amount above the minimum bid to
the Keep Kids Safe account.

(Effective December 20, 1996)

Sec. 14-21f-5. Renewal fee
The renewal registration fee for a Keep Kids Safe Number Plate shall be the

same as provided for the class of motor vehicle and type of number plate in section
14-49 or 14-160 of the Connecticut general statutes.

(Effective December 20, 1996)

Sec. 14-21f-6. Replacement
A Keep Kids Safe number plate which is lost or stolen, and such loss is reported

to the appropriate police authorities and the Department of Motor Vehicles as
required by law, shall not be replaced earlier than ten (10) months after such loss
is so reported. The commissioner may substitute another plate of his choosing until
such plate is replaced. A fee as provided by statute shall be charged for any
replacement number plate.

(Effective December 20, 1996)
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