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Personal Care Assistance Program

Secs. 17b-605-1a—17b-605-9a. Reserved

Sec. 17b-605-10a. Definitions
As used in Sections 17b-605-10a through 17b-605-18a:
(a) ‘‘Applicant’’ means a person who completes, signs, and submits an appli-

cation.
(b) ‘‘Commissioner’’ means the Commissioner of Social Services.
(c) ‘‘Department’’ means the Department of Social Services.
(d) ‘‘Disability-related expenses’’ means the cost of services directly associated

with a recipient’s disability and may include the following expenses if not reimburs-
able by a third party: disability-related medical supplies, equipment, personal care
assistant, prescriptions, medical and dental appointments and other disability-related
expenses as determined by the Commissioner. All such claimed expenses, including
proof of requests for and denial of third party reimbursable claims, are subject to
review and approval by the Commissioner.

(e) ‘‘Recipient’’ means a person who has been determined eligible and is receiving
a subsidy for personal care assistance.

(f) ‘‘Employable’’ means unemployed and able to provide proof of actively
seeking employment in the competitive labor market and evidence of a marketable
job skill.

(g) ‘‘Employed’’ means:
(1) Working seventeen and one-half (17 1/2) hours or more per week in the

competitive labor market, and compensated at least at the state minimum wage
pursuant to Title 31, Section 31-58 (j) of the General Statutes of Connecticut.

(2) Being self-employed with gross annual income equal to or exceeding the
income level of a person working seventeen and one-half (17 1/2) hours or more
per week in the competitive labor market and compensated at least at the minimum
wage pursuant to Title 31, Section 31-58 (j) of the General Statutes of Connecticut.

(h) ‘‘Family income’’ means the gross income of the applicant, adjusted by
allowable deductions for disability-related expenses. For the first level of assistance,
family income shall not exceed $30,000 per year, or, if he or she is married, the
combined gross income of the applicant and his or her spouse, shall not exceed
$51,000 per year. For a family with children an additional $2,000 in family income
is allowed for each dependent child. For the second level of assistance, family
income shall not exceed $20,000 per year for a single individual or, if he or she is
married, the combined gross income of the applicant and his or her spouse, shall
not exceed $41,000 per year. For a family with children an additional $2,000 in
family income is allowed for each dependent child.

(i) ‘‘Gross income’’ means all income, from whatever source derived, including,
but not limited to:

(1) Earned income such as compensation paid by an employer to an employee
for personal services and includes wages, salaries, tips, commissions, bonuses, and
earnings from self-employment or contractual agreements;

(2) Unearned income such as pensions, annuities, dividends, interest, rental
income, estate or trust income, royalties, social security or supplemental security
income, unemployment compensation, workers’ compensation, alimony, child sup-
port, and cash assistance from federal, state, or municipal assistance programs.

(j) ‘‘Personal care assistance’’ means assistance with activities of self-care which
a person is unable to perform for himself or herself including, but not limited to,
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assistance with bathing, bowel or bladder care, dressing, personal grooming, moving
in and out of bed, preparation and consumption of food, assistance with mobility,
application or use of prostheses, other assistive devices, or technological equipment.

(k) ‘‘Personal care assistant’’ means a person who is paid to provide personal
care assistance on a regular basis. Such person shall not be the spouse of the recipient.

(l) ‘‘Severe physical disability’’ means an impairment, either congenital or
acquired, which is expected to continue indefinitely and which limits one or more
major life activities, including self-care.

(m) ‘‘Subsidy’’ means a grant made by the Department to a recipient which may
be paid in installments. The subsidy for those eligible for the first level of assistance
is up to $7,300 per year. The subsidy for those eligible for the second level of
assistance is up to $15,000 per year.

(n) ‘‘Supervise’’ means the ability to hire, train, direct, schedule, pay, and termi-
nate the employment of a personal care assistant.

(Effective July 3, 1996)

Sec. 17b-605-11a. Eligibility for personal care assistance
(a) In order to be eligible for Personal Care Assistance benefits at the first level

of assistance the applicant shall meet the following criteria:
(1) Have a severe physical disability,
(2) Have a family income as defined in Section 17b-605-10a,
(3) Be employed or employable,
(4) Have attained the age of eighteen (18) years and be a resident of Connecticut,
(5) Have the ability to supervise a personal care assistant, and
(6) Have a need for personal care assistance of under 75 hours per month.
(b) In order to be eligible for personal care assistance benefits at the second level

of assistance the applicant shall meet all of the criteria in subsection (a) and have
a need for personal care assistance of 75 hours or more per month.

(Effective July 3, 1996)

Sec. 17b-605-12a. Elements of the application filing
(a) Any person may obtain an application by contacting the nearest district office

of the Department. Application forms shall be mailed to anyone upon request.
(b) The applicant shall be responsible for submitting a completed application

which shall include but not be limited to the following:
(1) A record of severe physical disability, including documentation such as state-

ments from nurses(s), doctor(s), and/or other health professionals,
(2) Wage stubs for the last six (6) weeks,
(3) A copy of the federal income tax return filed for the previous year,
(4) Copies of Social Security or other benefit checks, and other sources of docu-

mentation which clearly establish gross family income,
(5) Evidence of being employable,
(6) A personal care assistance plan including hours, costs, scope of care needed

in order for applicant to become or to remain employed, and the extent to which
the applicant currently uses personal care assistance, and

(7) Any additional reports or information that he or she feels will assist in the
determination of eligibility.

(Effective January 31, 1996)

Sec. 17b-605-13a. Application review and determination of eligibility
(a) Upon receipt of a completed application and after determination of income

eligibility, the district office shall arrange for a home visit or, if appropriate, a work-
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site visit, for the purpose of determining eligibility for the program which shall
include an assessment of the applicant’s capabilities for self-care.

(b) Within forty-five (45) days after the receipt of a completed application, the
Department shall determine the eligibility of an applicant.

(c) The amount of the subsidy for those eligible for the first level of assistance
shall be determined by the cost of providing necessary PCA services in accordance
with the individual’s care plan. The amount of the subsidy for those eligible for the
second level of assistance shall be determined by multiplying the number of hours
of PCA needed by the actual rate charged by the provider or a standard hourly rate
set by the department, whichever is less.

(d) Priority shall be given to employed persons who live in the community and
have no family support systems.

(e) Eligibility shall be reviewed every six (6) months and such redetermination
shall include verification of expenditure of the previous subsidy for personal care
assistance. Failure to provide such verification may be cause for discontinuance
from the program.

(f) It shall be the responsibility of the recipient to notify the district office within
fifteen (15) days of any change in circumstances affecting his or her eligibility.
Failure to do so may be cause for discontinuance from the program.

(Effective July 3, 1996)

Sec. 17b-605-14a. Waiting list and payments
(a) Applicants who would otherwise be eligible, but who cannot be granted

subsidies because of a lack of available funds, shall be placed on a waiting list
which shall give priority to employed persons over employable persons.

(b) Subsidies shall be granted subject to availability of funds.
(c) An individual who is employable may not receive a subsidy for more than

six (6) months in a consecutive three-year period. If such person becomes employed
during the benefit period, continuing eligibility shall be determined by the
Department.

(Effective January 31, 1996)

Sec. 17b-605-15a. Recordkeeping and verification of service
(a) The recipient shall maintain records verifying that the subsidy payments from

the Department have been expended for personal care assistance.
(b) FICA, FUTA UC payments - payments for personal care assistance services

shall be for the gross amount of the service payment as authorized by the commis-
sioner with no deductions for social security (FICA), federal unemployment tax
(FUTA), or state unemployment compensation (UC) payments. The recipient of
services shall be responsible for payment of the appropriate amount of FICA, FUTA,
and UC.

(Effective July 3, 1996)

Sec. 17b-605-16a. Overpayment recovery procedure
When an overpayment has been made through error by the recipient or the

Department, a modification in subsequent payments shall be made.
(Effective January 31, 1996)

Sec. 17b-605-17a.
Repealed, July 3, 1996.

Sec. 17b-605-18a. Fair hearings
An aggrieved person shall be given an opportunity for a fair hearing in accordance

with C.G.S. Sections 17-603 and 17-604, as same may be amended. The Department
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of Human Resources fair hearing procedures are governed by applicable provisions
of the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act and the agency’s separate fair hear-
ing regulations.

(Effective January 31, 1996)
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