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Service Fees to Be Charged by Insurance Producers and
Surplus Lines Brokers

Sec. 38a-707-1. Service fees
Properly licensed insurance agents and brokers organizing business in this state

may charge service fees to their clients in accordance with the schedules shown in
sections 38a-707-2 to 38a-707-8, inclusive. In addition to the scheduled fees a
producer or surplus lines broker may charge as reimbursement any moneys expended
by him for any (1) inspection report fees, (2) motor vehicle department reports, (3)
policy reports, (4) credit card service fees, (5) regulatory fees from other jurisdictions,
such as licensing fees, necessary for the placement of Connecticut risks with out-
of-state exposure, (6) costs for overnight mail, or (7) telegrams or telephone calls
necessary for the placement of the risk under consideration.

(Effective September 25, 1992; amended December 22, 2003)

Sec. 38a-707-2. Automobile
In accordance with subdivision (4) of subsection (a) of section 38a-329 of the

General Statutes, Automobile Assigned Risk (initial policy only) $35.00; Automo-
bile, other than automobile Assigned Risk, all forms, nonstandard $35.00.

(Effective September 25, 1992; amended December 22, 2003)

Sec. 38a-707-3. Owners, landlords and tenants—Manufacturers and con-
tractors

Non-standard Owners, Landlords and Tenants and non-standard manufacturers
and contractor forms may be assessed a fee of up to five percent of premium, not
to exceed $150.00.

(Effective September 25, 1992; amended December 22, 2003)

Sec. 38a-707-4. Workers’ compensation assigned risk
Workers’ Compensation Assigned Risk policyholders may be charged one per

cent of the premium subject to a ten-dollar minimum fee and a maximum fee of
two hundred and fifty dollars.

(Effective September 25, 1992; amended December 22, 2003)

Sec. 38a-707-5. Fire and allied lines
There will be no fee permitted for ‘‘Fair Plan’’ submissions. Non-standard fire

and allied lines policyholders may be charged a fee of one per cent of the premium.
(Effective September 25, 1992; amended December 22, 2003)

Sec. 38a-707-6. Substandard errors and omissions
Substandard Errors and Omissions policyholders may be charged ten dollars or

five per cent of the premiums up to a maximum of two hundred and fifty dollars.
(Effective September 25, 1992; amended December 22, 2003)

Sec. 38a-707-7. Surplus lines submissions
(a) A duly licensed producer and surplus lines broker involved in the same

transaction may each charge a flat fee per policy for business placed in the surplus
lines market, provided that the sum of the fee charged by such Producer and the
fee charged by such surplus lines broker shall not exceed $250.00 in the aggregate.
In the alternative, such producer and surplus lines broker may charge a fee of up
to five percent of the applicable premium, not to exceed $500.00 in the aggregate.
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(b) The fees referenced in this section may be charged for new and renewal
business.

(Effective September 25, 1992; amended December 22, 2003)

Sec. 38a-707-8. Miscellaneous and renewals
(a) Any other service charges not scheduled in sections 38a-707-2 to 38a-707-7,

inclusive, shall be submitted individually for approval. Except as provided in this
section and in section 38a-707-7 of the regulations of Connecticut State Agencies,
service fees shall not be permitted for renewals handled in the usual and customary
manner, except that such fees may be charged on renewal business where a re-
underwriting of the risk is necessary.

(b) Where, pursuant to section 38a-707-1 to 38a-707-9, inclusive, of the Regula-
tions of Connecticut State Agencies, the same insurance policy may be assessed a
service fee by both an insurance producer and a surplus lines broker, the total of
such fees shall not exceed five percent of the applicable premium or $500.00,
whichever is less.

(Effective September 25, 1992; amended December 22, 2003)

Sec. 38a-707-9. Service fee disclosure
No insurance producer or surplus lines broker shall charge any service fee as

specified in sections 38a-707-2 to 38a-707-8, inclusive, without first obtaining a
written memorandum, signed by the party to be charged, and specifying and clearly
defining the premium applicable to the policy and the amount or extent of any
service fees assessed pursuant to section 38a-707-1 to 38a-707-9, inclusive, of the
Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies. Such memorandum shall be kept by the
producer or surplus lines broker in such manner as to be easily subject to audit or
inspection by the insurance commissioner or the Commissioner’s agents.

(Effective September 25, 1992; amended December 22, 2003)
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