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Requirements for Approval, Operation and Monitoring of Alcohol Education
and Treatment Programsin the Pretrial Alcohol Education System

Secs. 54-5609-1—54-569-4.
Repealed, June 1, 1992.

Sec. 54-569-5. Definitions. for the purpose of sections 5 to 13 inclusive

(A) “‘Pretrial Alcohol Education System’’ means asystem created by the Legisla-
ture to deal with the problems caused by a cohol-impaired drivers on Connecticut’s
roads and highways. Through the cooperation of the courts, the Office of Adult
Probation, the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission and Approved Alcohol Educa
tion and Treatment Programs, education and treatment services are offered to eligi-
ble participants.

(B) ‘*Approved Alcohol Education and Treatment Program’’ (*‘ program’’) means
a program which has been inspected by the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission
and found to meet the minimum standards of sections 6 and 7 as being able to
supply evaluation, education and treatment services to participants in the Pretrial
Alcohol Education System.

(C) “'Participant’”’ means a person charged with or convicted of a violation of
Connecticut General Statutes Sec. 14-227awho has been found eligibleto participate
in the Pretrial Alcohol Education System.

(D) ‘“*Evauation’” means a procedure conducted by an Evaluator consisting of
an interview with the participant and a review of diagnostic test results and other
information which indicates the degree of the participant’ sinvolvement with a cohol
and determines to which phase of the program, education or treatment, the participant
will be assigned.

(E) ‘“‘Bvaluator’’ means a person who meets the requirements for evaluators
contained in section 10 who will evaluate and assign each participant to a phase of
the program on the basis of the results of that evaluation.

(F) “*Drinking Driver Attitude Reassessment Course’’ means the educational
phase of the Alcohol Education and Treatment program, an 8 session, 16 hour
course which is designed to improve the participant’s decision-making ability in
regard to future drinking and driving behavior and to increase his knowledge of
driver safety and alcohol’s effect on driving behavior.

(G) ‘“*Group Interaction’” means the 10 session 15 hour phase of the Alcohol
Education and Treatment Program which uses group therapy techniques and alcohol
education to enable the participant, whose evauation indicates the possibility of a
drinking problem to understand and confront his drinking/driving behavior and
begin to deal with it in a positive way.

(H) ‘*Program Administrator’” means the person designated by an approved
Alcohol Education and Treatment Program to fulfill administrative responsibilities,
meet record keeping and reporting requirements and act as the authorized agent of
the program.

() ““Instructor’’ means a person employed by an approved Alcohol Education
and Treatment Program to conduct the Drinking Driver Attitude Reassessment
Course, who has met the minimum reguirements for instructors contained in sec-
tion 11.

(J) “‘Therapist’”” means a person with demonstrated experience and competency
in group interaction who is utilized by an approved Alcohol Education and Treatment
Program to conduct Group Interaction meetings and who has met the minimum
requirements for therapists contained in section 12.
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(K) ““BAC” means blood alcohol content and refers to the results of blood,
breath, or urine tests given to participants at the time of the participant’s arrest.
(Effective August 19, 1982)

Sec. 54-56g-6. Program approval

(a) Application procedure

1. An agency, organization, corporation, partnership or individua which applies
for approval of an Alcohol Education and Treatment Program shall haveits physical
facilities and its plan for providing a group interaction program approved by the
Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission.

2. The agency, organization, corporation, partnership or individua which applies
for approval shall submit the following information to the Alcohol and Drug
Abuse Commission:

(A) The name and address of the agency, organization, corporation, partnership
or individual making application.

(B) The address of each location where evaluations, the Drinking Driver Attitude
Reassessment Course and Group Interaction will be held.

(C) Thenamesand qualificationsof the program administrator, participant evalua-
tors, instructors and therapists.

(D) A description of the agency, organization, corporation, partnership or individ-
ual’ s history of dealing with persons with alcohol problems, persons who have been
arrested or convicted of alcohol related traffic offenses and persons who have been
referred by the courts or the Office of Adult Probation.

(E) A planwhich describeshow the agency, organization, corporation, partnership
or individual will implement Group Interaction.

3. If any portion of the program will be subcontracted a draft which clearly
indicates all the terms of the subcontract shall be submitted to the Alcohol and Drug
Abuse Commission. The subcontractor shall be responsible for submission of all
information required by sections 5 to 13 inclusive for that portion of the program
which he proposes to supply.

(b) Criteria for program approval

1. The agency, organization, corporation, partnership or individual seeking
approval of its program shall offer the program in a geographical location where a
need for new services has been determined to exist by the Office of Adult Probation.

2. The physical facilities the program will utilize shall:

(A) be sufficiently spacious to accommodate up to 40 persons for the Drinking
Driver Attitude Reassessment Course and up to 15 persons for Group Interaction,

(B) meet al applicable local and state zoning, building, fire, health and safety
regulations and standards,

(C) have sufficient furniture, equipment and supplies to accommodate the parti-
Cipants,

(D) bein acentral location with adequate parking facilities to accommodate the
program participants,

(E) have been inspected and found to meet the foregoing requirements by the
Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission

3. The program must be able to hold a minimum of 6 Drinking Driver Attitude
Reassessment Courses and 6 Group Interaction phases per year and have the ability
to add up to 6 additional sessions of each if required to do so.

(Effective August 19, 1982)
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Sec. 54-56g0-7. General requirements

(@) Each Approved Alcohol Education and Treatment Program shall designate a
program administrator who shall be responsible for:

(1) participant record keeping,

(2) reporting to the Office of Adult Probation and the Alcohol and Drug Abuse
Commission as required by these regulations,

(3) staff selection and supervision,

(4) establishing operating procedures for the program.

(b) Each Approved Alcohol Education and Treatment Program shall establish a
participant record keeping system which will chronicle the participant’ sinvolvement
in the program from the time the participant is assigned to the program until his
relationship with the program terminates. The record for each participant shall
include:

(1) the results of al tests and examinations given to the participant,

(2) the results of the evaluation and the phase to which the participant was
assigned,

(3) anotation of any referrals of the participant to other alcohol or drug treat-
ment agencies,

(4) copies of al reports received from other agencies including the Office of
Adult Probation concerning the participant,

(5) copies of al correspondence to, from or relating to the participant, including
notes of any telephone conversations with or about the participant,

(6) aconsent to release of information form signed by the participant permitting
release of information by the program to the court and the Office of Adult Probation,

(7) arecord of the participant’s attendance at the program phase to which he
was assigned,

(8) any documents supporting an excused absence and the date on which the
missed session was made up,

(9) aduplicate of the notice of successful completion including the date upon
which the program reguirements were satisfied and the date upon which notification
of successful completion was mailed to the Office of Adult Probation,

(10) documentation indicating a violation of an attendance or participation
reguirement which precludes the possibility of the participant’s successful comple-
tion of the course and the date and manner in which the participant and the Office
of Adult Probation were notified of the violation,

(11) any change in program assignment and the reasons supporting such change.

(12) for participants enrolled in Group Interaction the record shall include the
therapist’ s assessment of the person’ sbehavior and parti cipation during each session.

(c) All client records shall be maintained for a period of seven years.

(d) All required record keeping and reporting shall be in accordance with federal
confidentiality regulations 42 CFR part 2.

(e) Each meeting of a Drinking Driver Attitude Reassessment Course or Group
Interaction shall be held at the original location or locations approved by the Alcohol
and Drug Abuse Commission unless prior written approval for a change of location
has been obtained from the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission.

(f) Theprogram shall schedule meetingsof the Drinking Driver Attitude Reassess-
ment Course and Group Interaction so that they begin no earlier than 6:00 p.m. on
weekdays or 9:00 am. on Saturdays and end no later than 10:30 p.m. on weekdays
or 5:00 p.m. on Saturdays. No meetings shall be held on Sundays or legal holidays.
The program must have a prior written approval of the Alcohol and Drug Abuse
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Commission if it wishes to schedule meetings at times other than those permitted
by this section.

(g) The program shall attempt to notify all participants by telephone if it is
necessary to postpone a scheduled meeting. Postponed meetings must be
promptly rescheduled.

(h) The program shall use acurriculum approved by the Alcohol and Drug Abuse
Commission for the Drinking Driver Attitude Reassessment Course. Any substantial
deviations from approved curriculum shall have the prior written approval of the
Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission.

(i) Theprogram shall follow aplan for Group Interaction approved by the Alcohol
and Drug Abuse Commission. Any substantial deviation or change in the plan shall
have the prior written approval of the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission.

(i) The program shall assign no more than 20 participants to each session of the
Drinking Driver Attitude Reassessment Course.

(k) The program shall assign no more than 12 participants to each Group Interac-
tion session.

(1) When enough participants have been assigned to either phase of the Alcohol
Education and Treatment Program so that the program is ready to hold a session
of either phase, the participants assigned to that phase shall be notified by mail sent
to their home addresses of the date, time, and location of the session. A copy of
attendance and participation requirements shall beincluded in the notice. The notice
must be mailed at least one full week prior to the starting date of the session.

(m) When an Approved Alcohol Education and Treatment Program wishes to
appoint anew individual to the position of program administrator, instructor, therapist
or participant evaluator, it must notify the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission
of the identity of the new appointee and supply information which demonstrates
that the new appointee meets the requirements of these regulations.

(n) Each program shall schedule the 8 meetings of each session of the Drinking
Driver Attitude Reassessment Course so that participants may complete that phase
in eight weeks. Programs may schedule two meetings per week.

(o) Each program shall schedule the 10 meetings of each session of Group
Interaction so that participants may complete the phase in no less than 10 weeks.

(p) Each program shall permit non-English speaking and hearing impaired partici-
pantsto be accompanied by aperson qualified to act asaninterpreter. Theinterpreter
shall confine his participation to that role.

(q) Each program shall provide the opportunity for every participant during the
last session of the phase to which he was assigned to make written comments on
the value and relevance of the material presented, the effectiveness of the instructor
or therapist in delivering that program phase and to make written suggestions for
improving the phase. The program shall not require the participant’s signature or
other identifying information on the above commentary.

(Effective August 19, 1982)

Sec. 54-560-8. Evaluation

(@) Upon natification by the Office of Adult Probation that a participant has been
assigned to the program an eval uation meeting with the parti cipant shall be schedul ed.

(b) Theevaluation of the participant shall be made after the program has obtained
the following:

(1) the participant’s full name, home address and tel ephone number
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(2) a consent to release of information form signed by the participant which
permits the program to release information about the client to the court and the
Office of Adult Probation

(3) results of the BAC tests taken after the participant was arrested. If the
participant refused to take the test, then notice of the refusal may be accepted in
lieu of the test results.

(4) the participant’s driving record showing prior alcohol related arrests and
convictions and a record of other alcohol related arrests, if available.

(c) At the evaluation meeting the evaluator shall determine to which program
phase the participant shall be assigned. In making this determination, the evaluator
shall consider the participant’s score on the Mortimer-Filkins Test, the BAC at the
time of the participant’s arrest, prior acohol related arrests and convictions, (if
such records are available) the participant’s history of treatment for alcohol related
problems and whether the participant is a first offender or is a second or subse-
quent offender.

(d) The participant shall be notified at the evaluation meeting or by mail sent to
his home address of his program assignment, the time and place of meetings,
attendance and participation requirements and the starting date of the session to
which he was assigned and shall receive written information describing the program
and listing the rules and requirements for successful completion of the program.
Such notice shall be given at least one week before the date of the first meeting.

(Effective August 19, 1982)

Sec. 54-56g-9. Completion and reporting requirements

(8) Theinstructor or therapist shall read the requirements for successful comple-
tion of the program at the first meeting of each session. The requirements shall be
prominently displayed in the meeting room at al times Alcohol Education and
Treatment Program meetings are in session.

(b) In order to successfully complete the Drinking Driver Attitude Reassessment
Course the participant shall:

(1) cooperate in the evaluation procedure,

(2) attend all scheduled meetings of the course,

(3) participate in discussions and required activities,

(4) complete all assignments,

(5) arrive on time and remain until the end of the meeting,

(6) arrive sober and refrain from consuming any alcoholic beverages or any
drugs during a course meeting except those prescribed for the participant by a
licensed physician,

(7) refrain from disruptive behavior during meetings.

(c) Every scheduled meeting of the Drinking Driver Attitude Reassessment
Course must be attended in order to successfully complete the course. Under the
following conditions a participant who fails to attend a session may be permitted
totransfer to and compl ete the course during asubsequent session with the permission
of the program administrator:

(1) death in the immediate family, supported by a newspaper death notice or
other evidence acceptable to the program administrator

(2) serious illness or injury of the participant or a member of his immediate
family supported by a physician’s signed statement

(3) other good cause acceptable to the program administrator. Such rescheduling
shall only be permitted once for each participant.
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(d) The program administrator shall give or mail notice of successful completion
to all participants who fulfill the requirements of the Drinking Driver Attitude
Reassessment Course within one week of the date of successful completion. Notice
of the participant’s successful completion shall be mailed to the Office of Adult
Probation within the same time period.

(e) The program administrator shall notify the Office of Adult Probation and the
participant within one week of the occurrence of any infraction which precludes
successful completion of the Drinking Driver Attitude Reassessment Course.

(f) A participant in the Drinking Driver Attitude Reassessment Course who is
precluded from successful completion because of a violation of the requirements
may elect to attend a subsequent Group Interaction phase in lieu of being returned
to the judicial system. If such election is made, the participant must successfully
complete Group Interaction in order to successfully complete the program. The
program shall promptly notify the

Office of Adult Probation of any transfer between program phases.

(g) The participant in Group Interaction shall fulfill the following requirements:

(1) cooperate in the evaluation procedure,

(2) attend all scheduled meetings of Group Interaction unless excused for reasons
acceptable to the program administrator on no more than two occasions,

(3) participate in discussions,

(4) complete all assignments,

(5) arrive on time and remain until the end of the meeting,

(6) arrive sober and refrain from consuming any alcoholic beverages or any drugs
during a Group Interaction meeting except those prescribed for the participant by
a licensed physician,

(7) refrain from disruptive behavior during meetings.

(h) The program administrator shall notify the participant and the Office of Adult
Probation within 1 week from the date of the last required meeting attended by the
participant that the participant has fulfilled the requirements of Group Interaction.
The notice sent to the Office of Adult Probation shall include the therapist’s assess-
ment of the client’ sprogressin dealing with hisdrinking problem and any recommen-
dations concerning additional treatment needs.

(i) The program administrator shall notify the Office of Adult Probation and the
participant within one week of the date of the occurrence of any infraction which
precludes the possibility that the participant can fulfill the requirements of Group
Interaction.

(7)) A participant shall not be permitted to attend any meetings of either the
Drinking Driver Attitude Reassessment Course or Group Interaction nor receive a
certificate of successful completion after notification is received by the program
from the Office of Adult Probation that the participant is no longer eligible to attend
the program.

(Effective August 19, 1982)

Sec. 54-560-10. Evaluators

(a) Each person who wishes to act as a participant evaluator shall:

(1) be certified as an acoholism counselor by the Connecticut Alcoholism Coun-
selor Certification Board, or be eligible for such certification within 1 year after
beginning employment as an Evaluator,

(2) have at least 1 year's experience in evaluating persons with alcohol related
problems,
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(3) have successfully completed an evaluator’s training course approved by the
Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission.

(b) No person who has been arrested and convicted of an alcohol or drug related
traffic offense or who has had his license suspended or revoked, or who has been
arrested and convicted of any acohol or drug related offense within the preceding
three years shall be permitted to become an Evaluator.

(c) No person shall continue to act as an Evaluator after being arrested and
convicted of an acohol or drug related traffic offense, or after having had hislicense
suspended or revoked for any violation of the Motor Vehicle Code or after being
arrested and convicted of any acohol or drug related offense.

(Effective August 19, 1982)

Sec. 54-56g9-11. Instructors

(a) Each person who wishesto act as an instructor for a Drinking Driver Attitude
Reassessment Course shall:

(1) be a high school graduate or holder of a high school equivalency diploma,

(2) hold a valid Connecticut driver’s license,

(3) have at least three years of driving experience,

(4) havesuccessfully completed aDrinking Driver Attitude Reassessment I nstruc-
tor's training course approved by the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission,

(5) participatein additional education courses and workshops for Drinking Driver
Attitude Reassessment Course instructors as they become available.

(b) No person who has been arrested and convicted of an alcohol or drug related
traffic offense or who has had his license suspended or revoked, or who has been
arrested and convicted of any alcohol or drug related offense within the preceding
three years shall be permitted to become a Drinking Driver Attitude Reassessment
Course Instructor.

(c) No person shall continue to act as a Drinking Driver Attitude Reassessment
Course Instructor after being arrested and convicted of an acohol or drug related
traffic offense, or after having had hislicense suspended or revoked for any violation
of the Motor Vehicle Code or after being arrested and convicted of any alcohol or
drug related offense.

(Effective August 19, 1982)

Sec. 54-56g-12. Therapist

(a) Each person who wishes to act as a therapist for Group Interaction shall:

(1) be certified as an acoholism counselor by the Connecticut Alcoholism Coun-
selor Certification Board, or be eligible for such certification within one year after
beginning employment as a group interaction therapist.

(2) haveat least one year’s experience in conducting group therapy in the alcohol
treatment field.

(3) participate in education courses and workshops for Group Interaction thera-
pists as they become available.

(b) No person who has been arrested and convicted of an alcohol or drug related
traffic offense or who has had his licensed suspended or revoked, or who has been
arrested and convicted of any alcohol or drug related offense within the preceding
three years shall be permitted to become a therapist.

(c) No personshall continueto act asatherapist after being arrested and convicted
of an alcohol or drug related traffic offense, or after having had his license suspended
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or revoked for any violation of the Motor Vehicle Code or after being arrested and
convicted of any alcohol or drug related offense.
(Effective August 19, 1982)

Sec. 54-56g-13. Program inspection

(@) Each Approved Alcohol Education and Treatment Program and each agency,
organization, corporation, partnership, or individual which is applying for approval
of an Alcohol Education and Treatment Program shall permit authorized representa-
tives of the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission to make periodic inspections of
all Pretrial Alcohol Education and Treatment program facilities and records, to have
access to all the participants' written comments on the program as required by Sec.
7 (g) of these regulations and to visit the Drinking Driver Attitude Reassessment
classroom and Group Interaction site while each is in session if such visits are
deemed necessary by the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission in order to monitor
the program’s compliance with these regulations.

(b) The Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission monitor shall visit all approved
programs at least once yearly and may visit more frequently if in the monitor’'s
discretion such additional visits are necessary during the term of the program’s
contract,

(c) The Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission shall mail a written report of the
results of the inspection to the program administrator and the Director of the Office
of Adult Probation within 15 working days after each inspection.

(d) If the results of the inspection are unsatisfactory, the Alcohol and Drug Abuse
Commission shall notify the program in writing of the specific areas in which the
program has failed to meet the requirements of sections 5 to 13 inclusive and shall
offer specific suggestions to correct the deficiencies.

(e) A program which has had an unsatisfactory inspection report shal be
reinspected by the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission monitor after a reasonable
time to permit the program to correct the deficiencies has elapsed.

(f) A program which fails to meet the minimum requirements after a second
inspection shall no longer be deemed to be an approved program and the Alcohol
and Drug Abuse Commission shall notify the Office of Adult Probation of the
program’s change of status immediately.

(9) An Approved Alcohol Education and Treatment Program shall submit a
Participant Information Form to the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission for each
participant referred to that program. Such forms shall contain al information
requested by the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission and shall be submitted in
the manner and at the time required by that Commission.

(Effective August 19, 1982)
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DNA Data Bank

Sec. 54-102i-1.
Repealed, March 5, 2007.

Sec. 54-102i-1a. Disposition of samples remaining after analysis

(a) The remainder of a biological sample shall be stored in a secure location
within the forensic science laboratory of the Division of Scientific Services within
the Department of Public Safety, hereinafter ‘‘the forensic science laboratory,”
and shall be accessible only to the forensic science laboratory director or his or
her designee.

(b) Remaining liquid blood shall be maintained at the forensic science laboratory
until testing is complete. If the results of the testing obtained from the stain portion
meet standard laboratory matching criteria, any liquid remaining in the original
blood tube and the tube itself shall be disposed of in laboratory biohazard containers
after all identifying markings have been obliterated.

(c) The forensic science laboratory may use any blood or biological sample stain
remaining after profiling is complete for the creation of a statistical database or

retesting to validate or update the original analysis.
(Adopted effective March 5, 2007)
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DNA Data Bank

Secs. 54-102j-1—54-102j-4.
Repealed, March 5, 2007.

Sec. 54-102j-1a. Definition

For the purposes of sections 54-102j-1a to 54-102j-4a, inclusive, of the Regulations
of Connecticut State Agencies, ‘‘forensic science laboratory’’ means the forensic
science laboratory maintained by the Division of Scientific Services within the

Department of Public Safety.
(Adopted effective March 5, 2007)

Sec. 54-102j-2a. DNA records searches and release of information

(a) Procedure for a search request by a law enforcement agency

(1) With the exception of a request made by the forensic science laboratory
director or his or her designee, any request to search the DNA data bank shall
include the name and position of the person making the search request, the requesting
agency and the purpose of the search. Such search request, which shall be directed
to the forensic science laboratory director, shall be submitted in writing on official
letterhead of the agency making the request. Such written request may be submitted
in person, by mail or by electronic means.

(2) The forensic science laboratory director or his or her designee shall verify
the identity and employment or other affiliation of the person making the search
request by telephoning or writing to someone in authority at the agency that the
person represents to confirm that the individual has the authority to make the request.

(b) Procedure in the event of a match

(1) Only when the director of the forensic science laboratory or his or her designee
is satisfied that a sample or DNA profile supplied by the person making the request
matches a profile in the DNA data bank, and such match is based upon standard
laboratory matching criteria, shall the existence of data in the DNA data bank be
confirmed or identifying information from the DNA data bank be disseminated.

(2) The results of an analysis and comparison of the identification characteristics
from two or more blood or other biological samples shall be made available directly
to federal, state or local law enforcement officers engaged in an official investigation
of the criminal offense that prompted the search request. Results shall be released
to such officers upon written request to the director of the forensic science laboratory
or his or her designee, in accordance with the verification procedures set forth in
subdivisions (1) and (2) of subsection (a) of this section.

(c) Notification of authorities in the event of a non-match

If a DNA data bank search does not result in a match, the director of the forensic
science laboratory or his or her designee shall promptly notify the person that made
the search request or the state’s attorney handling the case.

(d) Procedure for providing copies of search requests and their results to
persons identified and charged with an offense

(1) In accordance with subsection (c) of section 54-102j of the Connecticut
General Statutes, a copy of a search request and the results shall be furnished to any
person identified and charged with an offense as a result of a search of information in
the DNA data bank. Requests pursuant to this subsection shall not be made directly
to the forensic science laboratory, except as provided in subsection (e) of this section.

(2) Copy requests shall be transmitted to the forensic science laboratory by the
law enforcement agency that made the original search request. Such law enforcement
agency shall verify the identity of the person seeking such copy.
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(e) Procedure when copies are not provided by the law enforcement agency
that made the original search request

In the event that the copies requested in accordance with subsection (d) of this
section are not provided within ten (10) business days of the date of the request to
the law enforcement agency, the forensic science laboratory shall provide such
copies upon written request, following verification of the identity of the person
making the request. Such request shall be addressed to the director or his or her
designee.

(f) Release of a profile to a person from whom a blood or other biological
sample has been taken

As provided in section 54-102j of the Connecticut General Statutes, a copy of a
person’s DNA profile shall be released to such person. The request shall be made
to the director of the forensic science laboratory or his or her designee on such
form or forms as the Commissioner of Public Safety may prescribe. The form or
forms shall request information that will assist the director of the forensic science
laboratory in verifying the identity of the person making the request. A person
making a request under this subsection shall also provide a thumbprint, which shall
be witnessed by an employee of a law enforcement agency or such other government
agency as has authority under section 54-102h of the Connecticut General Statutes
to take blood or other biological samples for DNA testing.

(g) Authority to conduct searches in the absence of a request

The director of the forensic science laboratory or his or her designee may initiate
a DNA data bank search in the absence of a specific request from federal, state or
local law enforcement officers. Such search may be made for the purpose of ensuring
the accuracy of DNA data bank retrieval systems or in furtherance of an official

investigation into a criminal offense.
(Adopted effective March 5, 2007)

Sec. 54-102j-3a. Establishment of a statistical database

(a) Removal of identifying information

Any data obtained from a DNA data bank sample and used to establish a separate
statistical database shall have any individual identifying information deleted from
the database file when used for this purpose.

(b) Release of statistical information

Statistical information may be released and shared by authorized laboratory per-
sonnel with other laboratories, statisticians, law enforcement or criminal justice

agencies.
(Adopted effective March 5, 2007)

Sec. 54-102j-4a. Positions that require access to records and samples
The director, assistant director, supervising criminalist or their designees shall
have regular access to DNA data bank records and samples as a necessary function

of their positions.
(Adopted effective March 5, 2007)
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Revocation and Rescission of Parole

Sec. 54-124a (j) (1)-1. Definitions

As used in this regulation:

(1) ““‘Board’’ means the Board of Pardons and Paroles.

(2) ““Chairperson’’” means the Chairperson of the Board of Pardons and Paroles.

(3) ““Conditions of Parole’” means the conditions established for the release of
an offender to the community and the conditions established for the conduct of the
offender while on parole.

(4) ‘* Discretionary Parole’’” means conditional release from imprisonment before
the end of a criminal sentence granted in the discretion of the Board that allows the
offender to serve the remainder of the sentence in the community under supervision
following the conditions of parole.

(5) “‘Effective Parole Status’’ means that status of an offender who has been
voted to parole and is within thirty days of the ‘‘On or after’’ release date or for
whom a file review within sixty days of the *‘On or after’’ release date has revealed
no serious misconduct, no significant adverse information and the existence of a
suitable parole plan.

(6) “‘Hearing Examiner’” means an employee of the Board who conducts prelimi-
nary and final revocation hearings and rescission hearings.

(7) ‘“‘Notice of Parole Rescission’’ means the written notice to an offender of the
allegations of personal misconduct or other circumstances upon which the Board
intends to rescind its previous parole release decision.

(8) “‘Notice of Parole Violation’’ means the written notice to an offender detailing
the allegations of violation of parole and the supporting or documenting evidence
relied upon.

(9) ““‘Offender’” means a person convicted of a crime and includes inmates of
correctional facilities and persons granted parole.

(10) “‘On or After Date’’ means the earliest date an offender may be released on
discretionary parole.

(11) ““Preliminary hearing’’ means a hearing to determine whether there is proba-
ble cause to believe the offender has committed an act in violation of the conditions
of parole, whether the act is serious enough to warrant revocation of parole, and
whether detention pending further proceedings is warranted.

(12) ‘“‘Rescission of parole’” means the cancellation of scheduled release on
discretionary parole before release for serious misconduct, significant adverse infor-
mation not available at the time of granting of parole, or lack of a suitable release plan.

(13) “‘Rescission hearing’’ means a hearing to determine whether the parole
granted to an offender should be rescinded before actual release.

(14) “‘Reinstate’’ means restoration of parole as previously approved by a panel
of the Board, the Chairperson or designee.

(15) ““Remand to Actual Custody Order’” means the written temporary legal
authority directed to any proper officer by which an offender is arrested, charged
with violation of parole and returned from parole status to actual custody.

(16) ““Remand to actual custody’” means the physical procedures used to arrest
and return an offender to actual custody.

(17) “‘Revocation of parole’’ means the cancellation of the status of discretionary
parole or special parole for failure to comply with the conditions of parole.

(18) ‘“‘Revocation hearing’’ means a hearing to determine whether the offender
is subject to conditions of parole; whether the offender has violated the conditions
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of parole and, if so, whether the violation merits revocation and to determine the
appropriate disposition.

(19) “‘Special Parole’” means that period of supervision of an offender ordered
by the court to follow a term of imprisonment, subject to conditions of parole set
by the Board or by the Chairperson, as provided by sections 53a-28(b)(9) and 54-
125¢ of the Connecticut General Statutes.

(20) ““Technical Violation’’ means a violation of terms and conditions of supervi-
sion other than the commission of a new crime.

(21) ““Voted to Parole Status’’ means that status of an offender between the time
discretionary parole has been granted by the Board until thirty days before the *‘On
or After Date’’, which status and release are contingent upon continued good conduct,
a suitable release plan and the absence of significant adverse information not other-
wise available at the time the offender was voted to parole.

(22) ““Warrant for Reimprisonment’’ means the formal, continuing legal authority,
issued by the Board, directed to a proper officer and based on probable cause, to

arrest, hold and confine a person for violation of parole.
(Adopted effective April 5, 2007)

Sec. 54-124a (j) (1)-2. Application

Sections 54-124a(j)(1)-1 to 54-124a(j)(1)-12, inclusive, of the Regulations of
Connecticut State Agencies, apply to persons under supervision on parole, regardless
of how they were released to parole status. Sections 54-124a(j)(1)-1 to 54-124a(j)(1)-
12, inclusive, of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, are not the source
of rights of offenders but describe the process by which any rights such offenders
may have under the Constitution or laws of the United States or the Constitution

or laws of the State of Connecticut may be exercised.
(Adopted effective April 5, 2007)

Sec. 54-124a (j) (1)-3. Scope. Parole revocation and rescission proceedings
are not contested cases. No appeal

Parole revocation and rescission proceedings involve the cancellation of the
conditional privilege of the service of a portion of a criminal sentence outside prison
under supervision in the community or the cancellation of the period of special
parole imposed by a court as part of the disposition of a criminal case. Parole
revocation and rescission proceedings are not contested cases pursuant to the provi-
sions of the Uniform Administrative Procedure Act, section 4-166 of the Connecticut

General Statutes. There is no appeal from a decision to revoke or rescind parole.
(Adopted effective April 5, 2007)

Sec. 54-124a (j) (1)-4. Remand

(a) The Commissioner of Correction, any officer designated by the Commissioner
of Correction, the Board of Pardons and Paroles and the Chairperson of the Board
may remand to actual custody any offender charged with violation of parole.

(b) Offenders remanded to actual custody for parole violation have no right to
bail and may be detained pending revocation proceedings.

(c) The Remand to Actual Custody Order shall be valid for thirty business days,
after which it shall be void, provided that:

(1) Any Remand to Actual Custody Order not executed may be renewed and
reissued;

(2) any Remand to Actual Custody Order may be renewed by a Hearing Examiner
pending completion of a preliminary hearing rescheduled past thirty days from
return to actual custody for good cause; and
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(3) any Remand to Actual Custody Order for an offender held on behalf of
another jurisdiction may be renewed by the Deputy Compact Administrator under
the Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision for good cause.

(d) Not later than three business days after the remand to actual custody of the
offender, the authority issuing the Remand to Actual Custody Order, shall serve or
cause to be served on the offender a Notice of Parole Violation which notice shall
state, with particularity, the acts alleged to be in violation of the conditions of
parole and the evidence relied upon. Upon service of the notice, the remanding
authority shall:

(1) Advise the offender regarding the availability and scope of a preliminary
hearing;

(2) advise the offender of the right to counsel at personal expense and limited
right to counsel appointed by the State to represent him, in accordance with section
54-124a(j)(1)-12 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies; and

(3) if a technical violation, inquire regarding the offender’s intentions concerning
a plea and wishes relating to the preliminary hearing, counsel and witnesses.

(e) Not later than seven business days after the remand to actual custody of the
offender, the Commissioner of Correction or the Commissioner’s designee shall
send to the Board:

(1) An Application for a Warrant of Reimprisonment, including all documentary
evidence upon which the Commissioner relies;

(2) a copy of the executed Remand to Actual Custody Order;

(3) a copy of the Notice of Parole Violation showing service on the offender and
the offender’s intentions and wishes regarding plea, appearance, representation,
appointment of counsel, and witnesses.

(Adopted effective April 5, 2007)

Sec. 54-124a (j) (1)-5. Preliminary hearing and detention

(a) Unless waived, an offender charged with violation of parole shall be afforded
a preliminary hearing on the charges of violation of parole.

(b) Not later than fourteen business days after the remand to actual custody,
a Hearing Examiner shall conduct the preliminary hearing, unless continued for
good cause.

(c) On three days advance notice to the offender, for good cause, the preliminary
hearing may be expanded to constitute the final revocation hearing.

(d) At the preliminary hearing the offender may appear and testify and may present
written materials and witnesses who can give relevant and material information to
the Hearing Examiner regarding the allegations of violation of parole and mitigation.
On request of the offender, persons who have given adverse information upon which
revocation is premised shall be made available for questioning unless excused for
good cause.

(e) The preliminary hearing shall be for the purpose of determining:

(1) Whether there is probable cause to believe that the offender has committed
an act in violation of the conditions of parole; provided that, the probable cause
finding included in an arrest warrant issued by a judge of a court of competent
jurisdiction or determined at arraignment by any such court of competent jurisdiction
following a new arrest shall be conclusive evidence that there is probable cause to
believe that the offender has violated a condition of parole and the issue of probable
cause shall not be revisited by the Hearing Examiner or other parole officials;

(2) whether the act is serious enough to warrant revocation of parole; and
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(3) whether the offender should be detained pending further revocation pro-
ceedings.

(f) If the Hearing Examiner finds no probable cause to believe the offender has
committed an act in violation of parole, or finds probable cause to believe the
offender has committed an act in violation of parole but determines the violation
is not serious enough to warrant revocation, the Hearing Examiner, shall order the
offender’s Parole reinstated.

(g) If the Hearing Examiner finds probable cause to believe the offender has
committed an act in violation of parole serious enough to warrant revocation, the
Hearing Examiner may order continued detention pending the final revocation
hearing or, upon an affirmative finding that the offender is unlikely to engage in
further misconduct and release does not jeopardize public safety, the Hearing Exam-
iner, may authorize the offender released to supervision pending the hearing.

(h) Not later than twenty-one business days after the remand to actual custody,
or upon completion of any preliminary hearing, if detention beyond thirty days
from the remand to actual custody is appropriate, the Chairperson, or designee,
shall review:

(1) The Application for Warrant for Reimprisonment;

(2) the Remand to Actual Custody Order;

(3) the Notice of Parole Violation;

(4) Any documentary or other evidence being relied upon to support revocation
and, if applicable, the Hearing Examiner’s findings on the preliminary hearing.

(i) The Chairperson or designee shall review the submissions to ensure probable
cause exists for continued detention and, if so, shall issue and cause to be delivered
to a proper officer a Warrant for Reimprisonment.

(j) If the offender is already in actual custody in Connecticut, the Warrant for
Reimprisonment shall substitute for the expiring Remand to Actual Custody Order
and shall be delivered to the Commissioner of Correction not later than thirty
business days following the remand to actual custody.

(k) If the offender has absconded from supervision, the Warrant for Reimprison-
ment shall be held pending determination of the offender’s location and delivered

to appropriate authorities when the offender is located.
(Adopted effective April 5, 2007)

Sec. 54-124a (j) (1)-6. Pending criminal charges. Acquittal, dismissal or
nolle prosequi

Parole revocation procedures premised upon criminal misconduct that is the
subject of prosecution shall be continued until the criminal matter is disposed.
Dispositions of acquittal, dismissal or nolle prosequi are not binding on the Board
for revocation purposes. Such a disposition shall be reviewed to determine whether
revocation proceedings remain appropriate. If not, the revocation matter shall be
dismissed, the warrant withdrawn, and the offender’s parole reinstated.

(Adopted effective April 5, 2007)

Sec. 54-124a (j) (1)-7. New conviction. Revocation. New eligibility date

(a) The supervising parole officer shall monitor the status of criminal prosecution
of each offender accused of violation of parole based upon criminal misconduct.
Not later than fourteen business days following any new conviction the supervising
parole officer shall report to the Board the circumstances regarding the conviction.

(b) Conviction of a new crime is conclusive evidence of violation of conditions
of parole and shall result in revocation of parole.
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(c) If the new sentence or aggregation of sentences results in a new calculated
parole eligibility date that exceeds the term or period of supervision of the original
sentence from which the offender was paroled, or any confinement that would be
imposed for violation of parole with respect to the original sentence, no further
hearing is required. The Hearing Examiner shall send to the Commissioner of
Correction and to the offender a notice of revocation of parole and, to the offender,
a preliminary new parole eligibility date with respect to the new sentence.

(d) If the new sentence or aggregation of sentences results in a calculated parole
eligibility date that falls within the term of the original sentence from which the
offender was paroled, the Hearing Examiner shall conduct a revocation hearing to
determine mitigation surrounding the violation and the possibility and conditions
of potential reparole within the term of the original sentence. The Hearing Examiner,
may recommend no reparole, reparole, or a parole eligibility date following the
hearing.

(Adopted effective April 5, 2007)

Sec. 54-124a (j) (1)-8. Diversion. Expedited revocation disposition. Procedure

In any appropriate case and at any stage of the revocation process before final
revocation, the Board may:

(1) Divert the offender from revocation and reinstate without a finding of violation
upon the same conditions of parole as originally provided for; or, with sufficient
notice and opportunity for hearing to the offender, impose additional or more
stringent conditions of parole; or

(2) Offer the offender a time-limited, one-time only, non-negotiable expedited
revocation disposition, conditioned upon admission to one or more of the pending
parole violation charges and acceptance of responsibility for the parole violation
conduct in return for a specified revocation disposition. If the offender accepts the
expedited revocation disposition within the time period allowed, the expedited
revocation disposition shall become the official Board action. If the offender does
not accept the expedited revocation disposition within the time period allowed, the
expedited revocation disposition shall not be considered further during continuing
revocation proceedings.

(Adopted effective April 5, 2007)

Sec. 54-124a (j) (1)-9. Revocation hearing

(a) Parole revocation matters not resolved earlier shall proceed to a revocation
hearing not later than sixty business days from remand unless continued for good
cause.

(b) The purpose of the revocation hearing is to determine contested relevant facts
regarding allegations of violation of parole; to determine whether the facts as found
warrant revocation of parole; and, if so, to determine an appropriate disposition.

(c) The revocation hearing shall be conducted by a Hearing Examiner and shall
be electronically recorded.

(d) The rules of evidence shall not apply in a revocation hearing. The Hearing
Examiner may exclude, but is not required to exclude, evidence that is irrelevant,
immaterial, unduly repetitious, or excludable on constitutional or statutory grounds
or based on evidentiary privilege. The Hearing Examiner may admit hearsay and
evidence seized by police, and other evidence which may not be admissible in a
criminal proceeding under the rules of evidence, provided there is sufficient indicia
of reliability.
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(e) An employee of the Board may present evidence and advocacy in support of
the allegation that the offender violated conditions of parole. Alternatively, the
hearing may proceed without a presenter. The absence of a presenter shall not
preclude the Hearing Examiner from considering any evidence regarding revocation.

(f) Unless revocation is based on a new criminal conviction, the Hearing Examiner
may require the presence of any relevant witness and shall, upon timely request of
the offender, make available for questioning in the presence of the offender any
person who has given information upon which revocation may be based unless the
witness is excused for cause. The Chairperson shall issue and cause to be served
any subpoena necessary to ensure the timely presence of any witness.

(g) The offender shall have the opportunity to be heard and present evidence and
advocacy in defense against the allegation, showing there was no violation of the
conditions of parole or, if so, that circumstances in mitigation show that the violation
does not warrant revocation. The offender may appear and testify and may present
written materials and witnesses who can give relevant and material information to
the Hearing Examiner regarding the allegations of violation of parole and mitigation.

(h) At the conclusion of evidence regarding the alleged violation, the Hearing
Examiner shall make findings regarding violation of parole. If the Hearing Examiner
finds no violation, the hearing shall conclude and the offender’s parole reinstated.
If the Hearing Examiner concludes that the offender violated a condition of parole
and that the violation may merit revocation, the Hearing Examiner shall hear from
both the attending parole officer and the offender regarding the offender’s back-
ground and history for the purpose of considering the appropriate disposition.

(i) At the conclusion of evidence and advocacy regarding the offender’s back-
ground and history, the Hearing Examiner shall determine whether to reinstate, with
or without modification of the conditions of parole, or whether to recommend
revocation. If revocation is recommended, the Hearing Examiner shall also recom-
mend the period of confinement to be imposed.

(j) If reinstatement with modification of the conditions of parole is being consid-
ered, the Hearing Examiner shall afford the offender the opportunity to be heard
with respect to the modification of the conditions of parole.

(k) At the conclusion of the hearing the Hearing Examiner may:

(1) Find that the offender has violated the conditions of parole but recommend
to the Chairperson or designee that the offender’s parole be reinstated and may
recommend to the Chairperson or designee modifications of the conditions of parole.
If the offender disagrees with the modification of the conditions of parole, the
offender may petition the Board by letter to reconsider the modified conditions of
parole, but the modified conditions of parole shall remain in effect until removed
by the Board;

(2) Find that the offender has violated the conditions of parole and recommend:

(A) Reincarceration for the remainder of the sentence imposed by the court, a
reparole date, or a new parole eligibility date.

(B) Forfeiture of any good conduct credit which may have been earned pursuant
to Section 18-7 and 18-7a of the Connecticut General Statutes.

(l) The Hearing Examiner shall prepare a written report of the findings and
recommendations for approval by a panel of the Board.

(m) A panel of the Board shall consider all recommendations to revoke parole
or to modify the conditions of parole, and may:

(1) Approve and adopt the recommendation as the decision of the Board;
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(2) disapprove the recommendation and, using the evidence presented at the
hearing, impose a shorter period of reincarceration or lesser amount of good conduct
credit forfeiture than that proposed, or reinstate, with or without modifications; or

(3) impose a period of reincarceration longer than or impose a forfeiture of good
conduct credit in addition to that recommended but only after notice and opportunity
for a supplementary hearing to allow the offender to respond to concerns of the Board.

(A) Any supplementary hearing held by the Board shall be duly noticed and
limited to the issues the Board determines may justify additional confinement upon
revocation. Upon imposition of a period of incarceration longer than that recom-
mended, the Board shall include its reasons therefor in the written decision.

(n) The Board shall issue a final written decision and shall notify the offender
and the Commissioner of Correction or designee.

(o) Upon revocation of discretionary parole, the offender shall be held on the
original criminal court mittimus for a period equal to the unexpired portion of the
sentence, in accordance with Section 54-128(a) of the Connecticut General Statutes,
or such lesser time as specified by the Board.

(p) Upon revocation of Special Parole, the Chairperson or designee shall issue a
mittimus declaring the cause of commitment and requiring the warden of the correc-
tional institution or community correctional center to receive and keep such person
for the period fixed by the judgment of the Board, in accordance with the provisions
of section 54-97 of the Connecticut General Statutes.

(Adopted effective April 5, 2007)

Sec. 54-124a (j) (1)-10. Rescission of parole

(a) After the Board has granted parole, it may modify or rescind parole for the
following reasons:

(1) A serious act of misconduct before release;

(2) significant adverse information regarding the offender, received after the
hearing resulting in the parole grant but before release; or

(3) the absence of a suitable release plan.

(b) Not earlier than sixty days before the ‘‘On or After Date’” and not later than
thirty days before the ‘‘On or After Date’’, the Board shall conduct an electronic
pre-release file review for each offender voted to parole to determine continued
good conduct, the absence of significant adverse information and the existence of
a suitable release plan.

(c) If the electronic pre-release file review reveals no reason for possible rescission,
the offender’s status shall advance from Voted to Parole Status to Effective
Parole Status.

(d) If the electronic file review indicates reason for possible rescission, parole
release shall be suspended temporarily and the case referred to the Board for
consideration for rescission of parole.

(1) In the case of serious misconduct or significant adverse information, the case
may be referred to the Board for rescission.

(A) If the serious misconduct or significant adverse information is not a new
criminal charge, the Board shall hold a rescission hearing in accordance with subsec-
tions (e) and (f) of this section.

(B) If the offender is arrested on a new criminal charge, parole release shall be
held in abeyance pending disposition of the new criminal charge. Conviction of a
new criminal charge shall result in automatic rescission of the parole release.

(2) In the absence of a suitable release plan:
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(A) Release may be deferred for up to one hundred twenty days past the scheduled
release date, without a hearing, while the Department of Correction, Parole and
Community Services Division, continues efforts in placement; or

(B) in the event a suitable parole plan cannot be implemented, or, in any event,
one hundred twenty days after the scheduled release date without a suitable release
plan, the case shall be referred to the Board for rescission.

(e) Rescission Process — Effective Parole Status — Serious Misconduct or
Significant Adverse Information. After a successful pre-release file review or, in
the absence of such review, thirty days before the ‘‘On or After Date’’, the offender’s
status becomes Effective Parole Status. The process to rescind a previously granted
parole with less than thirty days remaining to the “‘On or After Date’’ for serious
misconduct or significant adverse information, except in the case of a new criminal
charge, shall be the same as for parole revocation and shall include:

(1) Ten-day advance written notice of the intent to rescind parole and the specific
misconduct or adverse information supporting rescission;

(2) a hearing before a neutral and detached Hearing Examiner not bound by the
result of prison disciplinary proceedings;

(3) the right to counsel and the limited right to counsel appointed by the state.

(4) the right to confront and cross examine willing adverse witnesses when doing
so would not be unduly hazardous to institutional safety;

(5) the right to call witnesses and present documentary evidence when doing so
would not be unduly hazardous to institutional safety;

(6) a written statement of the evidence relied on and the reasons for rescinding
parole;

(7) a written or electronic record of the proceedings.

(f) Rescission Process. Effective Parole Status. Lack of Suitable Parole Plan.
In those cases where the Board has specified conditions precedent to release, the
process to impose such conditions precedent and to rescind parole based on the
lack of a suitable parole plan shall include:

(1) To Impose or Modify Conditions:

(A) Notice of all conditions precedent to release imposed at the time parole is
granted or as soon as practicable following the imposition of conditions precedent;

(B) an explanation of the reasons why such conditions precedent were being
imposed;

(C) an opportunity to dispute the grounds for application of the condition or
conditions precedent;

(2) To Rescind Parole:

(A) Advance written notice of intent to rescind parole for lack of a suitable parole
plan and the reasons therefor;

(B) consistent with safety and security, the opportunity to review relevant materials
regarding failure to implement a suitable parole plan and opportunity to contend
for release;

(C) review of all written materials regarding suitability of parole plan by a neutral
and detached Hearing Examiner;

(D) a written statement of the evidence relied on and the reasons for rescinding
parole for lack of a suitable parole plan.

(g) Rescission Process — Voted to Parole Status — Serious Misconduct or
Significant Adverse Information. After being voted to parole. After being voted
to parole but before the pre-release file review, and earlier than thirty days before
the ‘“‘On or After Date’’, upon notice that the offender has engaged in serious
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misconduct or that there is significant adverse information previously unknown,
parole release shall be suspended temporarily and the matter referred to the Board
for rescission. The process to rescind a previously granted parole in such circum-
stance for serious misconduct or significant adverse information, except in the case
of a new criminal charge, shall include:

(1) Ten-day advance written notice of the intent to rescind parole and the specific
misconduct or adverse information supporting rescission;

(2) review of written reports by a neutral and detached Hearing Examiner who
may accept such written reports as conclusive evidence of misconduct, provided
that the offender is given the opportunity to explain;

(3) a written statement of the evidence relied on and the reasons for rescinding
parole.

(Adopted effective April 5, 2007)

Sec. 54-124a (j) (1)-11. Rescission of parole following a new conviction

Conviction of a new crime committed before release on parole shall be conclusive
evidence of serious misconduct and parole shall be rescinded.
(Adopted effective April 5, 2007)

Sec. 54-124a (j) (1)-12. Counsel

(a) Offenders subject to revocation proceedings and offenders in Effective Parole
Status subject to rescission proceedings for serious misconduct may retain counsel
of their choice to assist in the revocation or rescission process.

(b) The Chairperson shall appoint counsel to represent offenders subject to revoca-
tion proceedings and offenders in Effective Parole Status subject to rescission
proceedings for serious misconduct in the following circumstances:

(1) The offender is indigent;

(2) the offender makes a timely and colorable claim of:

(A) Innocence of the misconduct alleged; or

(B) although guilty of misconduct, the existence of substantial reasons that justify
or mitigate the violation and render the revocation or rescission inappropriate;

(3) the claim of innocence or the reasons justifying or mitigating the violation
are complex or otherwise difficult to develop or present; and,

(4) the offender appears incapable of speaking effectively.

(c) Any request for appointment of counsel shall be in writing, directed to the
Chairperson, and shall include:

(1) A statement of indigence;

(2) any written statement or other relevant materials the offender may wish the
Board to consider regarding appointment of counsel. The offender is not required
to discuss the substance of the violation charges but must provide sufficient relevant
information regarding claims of complexity or difficulty to allow for a decision to
be made regarding appointment of counsel or risk being denied appointed counsel;

(3) the results of an interview or evaluation by the interviewing parole officer
regarding the complexity of the circumstances surrounding the alleged violation,
the offender’s apparent ability to understand the proceedings and the offender’s
apparent ability to speak effectively.

(d) In the case of multiple charges, the Chairperson may dismiss a complex or
difficult charge and decline to appoint counsel if the remaining charges are simple
and amenable to resolution without the participation of counsel.
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(e) If the Chairperson declines a request to appoint counsel, the reasons for such
refusal shall be stated in writing with a copy delivered to the offender.
(Adopted effective April 5, 2007)
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Administrative Pardons Process

Sec. 54-124a(j)(2)-1. Definitions

As used in Sections 54-124a(j)(2)-1 to 54-124a(j)(2)-8, inclusive, of the Regula-
tions of Connecticut State Agencies:

(1) “*‘Administrative Pardon Docket’” means a list of pardon applications that
will be reviewed for a pardon by a panel of the Board of Pardons and Paroles
without a hearing;

(2) ‘‘Administrative Pardon Process’’” means a process by which a pardon, condi-
tioned or absolute, may be granted without a hearing to a person convicted of a
crime after consideration of written materials submitted to the Board of Pardons
and Paroles for consideration in accordance with sections 54-124a(j)(2)-1 to 54-
124a(j)(2)-8, inclusive, of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies;

(3) ““Board’’ means the Board of Pardons and Paroles or a panel thereof;

(4) ““Chairperson’’ means the Chairperson of the Board of Pardons and Paroles;

(5) “‘Incarceration’” means the period of time an individual is confined in a
correctional institution, under Department of Correction community supervision, or
under parole supervision;

(6) ‘“‘Pardon’’ means the conditional or absolute release from the legal penalties
resulting from the conviction of a crime;

(7) ““Victim’’ means ‘‘victim of crime’’ or ‘‘crime victim’’ as defined in section
1-1k of the Connecticut General Statutes.

(Adopted effective October 6, 2008)

Sec. 54-124a(j)(2)-2. Review of applications received

An employee of the Board of Pardons and Paroles shall review each application
received for a pardon and identify applications that meet the criteria defined in
Section 54-124a(j)(2)-4 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies for pardon

consideration by an administrative pardon process.
(Adopted effective October 6, 2008)

Sec. 54-124a(j)(2)-3. Board review of application prior to scheduled par-
dons hearing

Prior to the scheduled pardon hearing, the Board shall meet and review all
applications identified pursuant to section 54-124a(j)(2)-2 of the Regulations of
Connecticut State Agencies for pardon consideration by an administrative pardon
process. At least two members of a panel of the Board of Pardons must approve
an application being placed on the administrative pardon docket for further consider-
ation. Pardon applications that have been placed on the administrative pardon docket
shall not be scheduled for a hearing unless the Board determines to consider the
applications on the regular pardon docket pursuant to section 54-124a(j)(2)-5 of the
Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies or the victim or the Office of the State’s
Attorney pursuant to section 54-124a(j)(2)-8 of the Regulations of Connecticut

State Agencies.
(Adopted effective October 6, 2008)

Sec. 54-124a(j)(2)-4. Provisions of pardons granted without a hearing
The Board shall consider and may grant a pardon pursuant to an application that
was placed on the administrative docket, without a hearing, provided that a victim
of the crime or the Office of the State’s Attorney has not requested a hearing and:
(1) The conduct for which the applicant was convicted was a misdemeanor and
no longer constitutes a crime;
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(2) Such applicant was convicted of a misdemeanor, under twenty-one years of
age at the time of conviction, and has not been convicted of a crime during the five
years preceding the date on which the administrative pardon is granted;

(3) Such misdemeanor conviction occurred prior to the effective date of the
establishment of one of the following diversionary programs for which the applicant
would have been eligible had such program existed at the time of conviction,
provided the chairperson determines the applicant would likely have been granted
entry into such program:

(A) Suspended Prosecution or Conviction and Probation and Court-Ordered
Treatment for Drug or Alcohol Dependency. Sections 17a-692 to 17a-701, inclu-
sive, of the Connecticut General Statutes (formerly sections 19a-127a to 19a-127j,
inclusive, of the Connecticut General Statutes), effective January 1, 1990;

(B) Pretrial Family Violence Education Program. Section 46b-38c of the
Connecticut General Statutes, effective October 1, 1986;

(C) Alternate Incarceration Program. Section 53a-39a of the Connecticut Gen-
eral Statutes, effective, July 5, 1989;

(D) Community Service Labor Program. Section 53a-39c¢ of the Connecticut
General Statutes, effective July 1, 1990;

(E) Accelerated Pretrial Rehabilitation. Section 54-56e of the Connecticut
General Statutes (Formerly Section 54-76p of the Connecticut General Statutes),
effective June 12, 1973;

(F) Pretrial Alcohol Education Program. Section 54-56g of the Connecticut
General Statutes, effective October 1, 1981;

(G) Pretrial Drug Education Program. Section 54-56i of the Connecticut Gen-
eral Statutes, effective January 1, 1998;

(H) Pretrial School Violence Prevention Program. Section 54-56j of the Con-
necticut General Statutes, effective January 1, 2000; or

(4) Such applicant was convicted of a violation of any of the following crimes,
and such applicant has not been convicted of a crime during the five years preceding
the date on which the administrative pardon is granted, provided such date is at
least ten years after the date of conviction or release from incarceration, whichever
is later:

(A) Section 21a-277 of the Connecticut General Statutes (Formerly Section 19-
480 of the Connecticut General Statutes);

(B) Section 21a-278 of the Connecticut General Statutes (Formerly Section 19-
480a of the Connecticut General Statutes);

(C) Section 21a-279 of the Connecticut General Statutes.
(Adopted effective October 6, 2008)

Sec. 54-124a(j)(2)-5. Discretion of board — placement of application on
docket

The Board shall have the discretion to move any application that was placed

on the administrative pardon docket to the regular pardon docket and require a

full hearing.
(Adopted effective October 6, 2008)

Sec. 54-124a(j)(2)-6. Notice to state’s attorney that prosecuted the crime
The Board shall notify the Office of the State’s Attorney that prosecuted the
crime that is the subject of a pardon application that has been placed on the adminis-
trative pardon docket, and shall include notice of a comment period of not less than
thirty days prior to the date that the application will be considered pursuant to the

administrative pardon process.
(Adopted effective October 6, 2008)
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Sec. 54-124a(j)(2)-7. Attempt to identify and notify victim of crime

The Board shall attempt to identify and notify the victim of the crime that is the
subject of a pardon application that has been placed on the administrative pardon
docket by contacting the Office of Victim Services and the Department of Correc-
tion’s Victim Service Unit. The Board shall include notice of a comment period of
not less than thirty days prior to the date that the application will be considered

pursuant to the administrative pardon process.
(Adopted effective October 6, 2008)

Sec. 54-124a(j)(2)-8. Notification to board by victim to be heard personally

If the Board is notified of a request for the opportunity to be heard personally
by the victim or the Office of the State’s Attorney prior to the Board taking final
action on the application, the application shall be ineligible for consideration by an
administrative pardon process and the Board shall reassign the application to the
regular pardons docket. The Board shall notify the applicant, the Office of the

State’s Attorney, and the victim of the hearing date.
(Adopted effective October 6, 2008)
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Reasons for Denial of Pardon Application

Sec. 54-124a(j)(3)-1. Reasons for denial of pardon application

Any pardons panel of the Board of Pardons and Paroles that denies an application

for a pardon shall provide a written statement of reasons the application was denied.
(Adopted effective July 18, 2005)
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Statutory Provisions for Parole
Pursuant to Public Act 95-255

Sec. 54-125a-1. Definitions

For the purposes of sections 54-125a-1 through 54-125a-6, the following defini-
tions shall apply:

(2) **Board’’ means the Board of Parole as established under section 54-124a of
the general statutes, and shall include the full board membership or a panel of two
or more board members appointed under subsection (€) of section 54-124a.

(2) ‘' Definite sentence’” means a sentence of imprisonment under section 53a
35a of the general statutes.

(3) ““Inmate’’ means any person who is in the custody of the Commissioner of
Correction or the Board of Parole.

(4) ‘' Offense’’ shall have the same meaning as provided in section 53a-24 of the
general statutes.

(5) ‘‘Parole’’ means a change of custody from the Commissioner of Correction
to the Board of Parole.

(6) ‘*Parole eligibility date’’ means the earliest date on which an inmate may be
alowed to go at large on parole in accordance with section 54-125a of the genera
statutes, as amended by public act 95-255.

(Effective May 2, 1997)

Sec. 54-125a-2. Application

Sections 54-125a-1, 54-125a-2, 54-125a-3, 54-125a-4, 54-125a-5 and 54-125a-6
shall apply to inmates who, on or after July 1, 1996, are convicted of an offense
for which parole is authorized.

(Effective May 2, 1997)

Sec. 54-125a-3. Procedure

(@) The Board shall make a determination whether the inmate is ineligible for
parole until he or she has served not less than 85% of his or her definite sentence
or sentences, pursuant to section 54-125a of the genera statutes, as amended by
public act 95-255. If such determination isin the affirmative, the board shall notify
the inmate of his or her earliest parole eligibility date based upon serving not less
than 85% of his or her definite sentence or sentences. The Board shall also notify
the Department of Correction of al such determinations.

(b) The Board of Parole shall make a determination of an inmate’s earliest parole
eligibility date. The Board, in making such determination, shall obtain, on a weekly
basis, alist of all inmates sentenced within the previous week. A criminal history
of the inmate, will be obtained which may include, but shall not be limited to, a
State Police criminal records check, out of state crimina records check, police
reports, previous parole and probation reports, and any other information that the
Board deems relevant. Criminal justice data systems will be queried for information
regarding the length of sentence for each specific charge. The Chairman of the
Board of Parole shall convene a panel of two or more parole board members to
review the information compiled. The panel will determine whether the inmate must
serve 50% or 85% of his or her sentence before becoming eligible for Parole. The
inmate and the Department of Correction will then be notified of the Board' s determi-
nation.

(Effective May 2, 1997)



Sec. 54-125a page 4 (5-97)
§54-125a-4 Board of Parole

Sec. 54-125a-4. Criteria

(a) The board shall determine whether the statutory definition of the offense or
any offenses for which an inmate is serving a sentence of imprisonment contains
one or more elements which involve the use, attempted use or the threatened use
of physical force against another person. Such inmates shall be ineligible for parole
until they shall have served not less than 85% of their definite sentences pursuant
to section 54-125a of the general statutes, as amended by public act 95-255.

(b) In &l other cases, the board shall determine whether the underlying act or
acts constituting the offense or any offense for which theinmate is serving a sentence
of imprisonment, or any other relevant information, demonstrate that the inmate is
a violent offender. Not less than thirty days prior to making such determination,
the board shall notify the division of criminal justice, and shall consider al informa-
tion and comment provided by that agency. If the board determines that an inmate
meets such criteria, the inmate shall be ineligible for parole until he or she has
served not less than 85% of his or her definite sentence or sentences pursuant to
section 54-125a of the general statutes, as amended by public act 95-255.

(¢) In classifying inmates under subsections (a) and (b) of this section, the board
may consider any information which it deems to be relevant.

(Effective May 2, 1997)

Sec. 54-125a-5. Guid€elines

(a) The Board shall determine whether the statutory definition of the offense or
any offenses for which an inmate was convicted of or is serving a sentence of
imprisonment contains one or more elements which involve the use, attempted use
or threatened use of physical force against another person. No such inmate shall
become parole eligible until he or she has served not less than 85% of his or her
definite sentence pursuant to the general statutes listed. The following Connecticut
General Statutes are applicable to an inmate’ s 85% determination: 53a-55, 53a-55a,
53a-56, 53a-568, 53a-56b, 53a-57, 53a-59, 53a-59, 53a-60, 53a-60a, 53a-60b, 53a
60c, 53a-70, 53a-70a, 53a-70b, 53a-72b, 53a92, 53a-92a, 5394, 53a-94a, 53a
95, 53a-101, 53a-102a, 53a-103a, 53a-111, 53a-112, 53a-134, 53a-135, 53a-136,
53a-167c, 53a-179b, 53a-179c, 53a-181c.

(b) Inal other cases, the Board shall consider the underlying act or acts constituting
the offense or any offense for which theinmateis serving a sentence of imprisonment
or any other relevant information that demonstrates a tendency toward the use,
attempted use or threatened use of physical force against another person. Information
may include, but not be limited to, presentence reports. State Police criminal records
check, sentencing dockets, Criminal Justice Information System information, police
reports, out of state criminal records, parole and probation reports, victim(s) state-
ment, witness statements, inmates prior incarceration history. After reviewing this
information, the panel will determine whether the inmate has a past history and/or
aseriesor apattern of convictions for an offense or offenses described in subsection
(a) of these guidelines.

(Effective May 2, 1997)

Sec. 54-125a-6. Effect

Decisions of the Board under sections 54-125a-1 to 54-125a-6, inclusive, of the
Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies shall be limited solely to the determina-
tion of inmates’ earliest parole eligibility dates pursuant to section 54-125a of the
genera statutes, as amended by public act 95-255, and shall not be relevant in
proceedings to determine whether an inmate should be granted parole on that or
subsequent dates, nor to any other parole matter.

(Effective May 2, 1997)
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Criteria and Procedures for Release of Inmates Without Parole Hearing

Sec. 54-125b-1. Criteria and procedures for release of inmates without
parole hearing

A person may be alowed to go on parole in accordance with Section 54-125a
of the General Statutes, section 54-125g of the General Statutes, and any other
applicable statute, without a parole hearing being conducted by a panel of the Board
of Parole under the following conditions:

(a8) An employee of the Board of Parole must have reviewed the inmate's case
and recommended that parole be granted to such inmate, only after advance notice
has been given to any victim, if the victim has regquested such notice and provided a
current address. Testimony of such crime victim may occur as defined in Connecticut
General Statutes section 54-126a.

(b) The Board of Parole employee who conducts such review and makes such
recommendation must have been designated to do so, in writing, by the Chairman
of the Board of Parole or the Chairman’s designee. Such designation may be in
genera or for a particular case, only at the discretion of the Chairman or the
Chairman’s designee.

(c) The person designated to conduct such review and make such recommendation
shall be an employee of the Board of Parole, who has training, experience or
educationin law, criminal justice, parole matters, or other related fields for consider-
ation of matters before the Board.

(d) The person who makes such evaluation and recommendation shall use the
following criteria in doing so:

(1) The nature and circumstances of the inmate's offense and his or her current
attitude about the offense(s) and changes he or she has made that will reduce the
likelihood of future criminal offense.

(2) The inmate's prior criminal record and his or her community release adjust-
ment, if he or she has been previously released, including and prior history with
community release, probation or parole.

(3) The inmate's attitude toward family members, the victim, and authority in
general, including reducing the likelihood of ever coming into contact with the
victim(s) of his or her crime.

(4) The inmate’s institutional adjustment, including his or her participation and
progress in the areas of the institutional program(s) relevant to his or her self-
improvement and positive programming.

(5) Theinmate' s employment history, occupational skills, and employment stabil -
ity to form the basis for becoming self-supporting and independent, reducing the
likelihood of future criminal behavior.

(6) Theinmate' sphysical, mental and emotional health eval uations, asdocumented
in the inmate’s records.

(7) The inmate’s insight into the cause of his or her past criminal conduct.

(8) The inmate's effort(s) and understanding of how to find solutions to his or
her personal problemsincluding, but not limited to, addiction to narcotics, excessive
use of acohol, the need for academic and vocational education, and his or her use
of the available resources related to such issues within the institutional program(s).

(9) The inmate's parole plan shall include, but not be limited to, verification and
approval by the Board of Parole of the environment to which the inmate plans to
return, those with whom he or she plans to be associated, and the adequacy of his
or her residence and employment.
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(e) The person making such review and recommendation shall examine or consider
such documents as he or she deems applicable to the above criteria.

(f) No recommendation in favor of parole shall result in parole unless such
recommendation has been approved by at |east two members of a panel of the Board
of Parole. Such members shall be appointed in accordance with the procedure set
forth in subsection (b) of this section.

(g9) No inmate may be released pursuant to the provisions of this section if he or
she has been convicted of aviolation of Section 53a-55, 53a-55a, 53a-56, 53a-563,
53a-56b, 53a-57, 53a-58, 53a-59, 53a-59a, 53a-70, 53a 703, 53a-70b, 53a-92, 53a-
92a, 53a-134, 53a-196a, or has more than three years remaining on his or her
sentence or is otherwise prohibited from being granted parole for any reason.

(Adopted effective July 30, 1997; amended November 2, 2001)
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Duties of Peace Officers

Sec. 54-222a-1. Responsibilities of peace officers

(a) Each peace officer within this state, as defined in Section 53a-3 (9) of the
Connecticut General Statutes, who determines that a crime has been committed
shall, pursuant to Section 54-222a of Connecticut General Statutes, render immediate
assistance to each victim of such crime unless another peace officer has aready
done so.

(b) That assistance shall include obtaining medical assistance for the victim if
the peace officer determines that the victim has suffered physical injury as defined
in Section 53a-3 (3) of the Connecticut General Statutes, unless the victim, having
been advised of the availability of medical assistance, instructs the peace officer
not to obtain such assistance.

(Effective September 26, 1990)

Sec. 54-222a-2. Victim suffering physical injury to receive victim assistance
card

(@) In the event that an investigation reveals one or more identifiable victims
who have suffered physical injury, the peace officer in charge shall insure that a
victim assistance card is delivered to each such victim pursuant to Section 54-222a
of the Connecticut General Statutes.

(b) The victim assistance card shall be delivered at the first reasonable opportu-
nity, taking into account the physical and emotional condition of the victim, the
exigencies of the investigation and any other relevant factors.

(Effective September 26, 1990)

Sec. 54-222a-3. Other victims shall receive a victim assistance card

(8 A member of the family of any crime victim who has been killed or rendered
unconscious shall receive a card.

(b) A crimevictimwho has suffered seriousemotional traumashall receive acard.

(c) A victimof Family Violence, asdefined by Section 46b-38b of the Connecticut
Genera Statutes, shall receive a card.

(Effective September 26, 1990)
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Address Confidentiality Program

Sec. 54-240a-1. Definitions

For purposes of Sections 54-240a-1 to 54-240a-12, inclusive of the Regulations
of Connecticut State Agencies:

(1) ‘‘Address confidentiality program’” or ‘‘program’’ or ‘‘ACP’ means
“* Address confidentiality program’ or ‘‘program’’ as defined in section 54-240 of
the Connecticut General Statutes,

(2) “*Agency’’ means ‘' Agency’’ as defined in section 54-240 of the Connecticut
Generd Statutes;

(3) “*Applicant for renewal’’ means aprogram participant, aguardian or conserva-
tor of the person acting on behalf of an adult program participant, or a parent or
guardian acting on behalf of a minor program participant, who applies to renew the
certification of the participant pursuant to Sec. 54-240a-4 of the Regulations of
Connecticut State Agencies;

(4) “* Application assistant’”” means ‘* Application assistant’’ as defined in section
54-240 of the Connecticut Genera Statutes;

(5) “* Authorized personnel’’ means‘* Authorized personnel’’ as defined in section
54-240 of the Connecticut General Statutes;

(6) “‘Certification card’’ means ‘' Certification card’’ as defined in section 54-
240 of the Connecticut General Statutes;

(7) **Confidential address”’ means ‘‘ Confidential address'’ as defined in section
54-240 of the Connecticut General Statutes;

(8) ‘‘Law enforcement agency’’ means ‘‘Law enforcement agency’’ as defined
in section 54-240 of the Connecticut General Statutes;

(9) *“‘Marriage records ' means ‘‘Marriage records’ as defined in section 54-240
of the Connecticut General Statutes;

(10) ‘*Program address’’ means ‘‘Program address’ as defined in section 54-
240 of the Connecticut General Statutes;

(12) **Program applicant’’ means an adult person, a guardian or conservator of
the person acting on behalf of an adult person, or a parent or guardian acting on
behalf of a minor, who applies to participate in the program;

(12) “*Program participant’’ or ‘‘participant’’ means ‘‘ Program participant’’ or
“‘participant’’ as defined in section 54-240 of the Connecticut General Statutes;

(13) *“‘Record’’ means ‘‘Record’’ as defined in section 54-240 of the Connecticut

Genera Statutes.
(Adopted effective March 23, 2005)

Sec. 54-240a-2. Application for program participation

(a) Application forms. The Secretary of the State shall prescribe application
forms for program participation.

(b) Application assistants. Program applicants shall complete application forms
with assistance from an application assistant.

(c) Delivery of completed applications. Application assistants shall deliver com-
pleted application forms to the office of the Secretary of the State by depositing
the same in the United States mail addressed to said office as indicated on the
application forms.

(d) False information. False information contained in an application shall be
considered grounds for refusal or cancellation of program certification.

(e) Duty to provide current information. A participant who changes his or her
name or confidential address from the name or address listed on the program
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application shall provide written notification to the Secretary of the State not later
than thirty days after such change. Failure to do so shall be considered grounds for
cancellation of certification.

(Adopted effective March 23, 2005)

Sec. 54-240a-3. Certification of program participants

Certification. The Secretary of the State shall certify, as participants, individuals
who havefiled, or on whose behalf have been filed, properly completed applications.
(Adopted effective March 23, 2005)

Sec. 54-240a-4. Certification renewal

(@) Certification renewal forms. The Secretary of the State shall prescribe
certification renewal forms for use by program participants.

(b) Notice of expiration. Not later than 30 days prior to the expiration of a
participant’s certification, the Secretary of the State shall mail notice of expiration,
and certification renewal forms, to the participant’s confidential address.

(c) Delivery of completed certification renewal forms. An applicant for renewal
shall deliver completed certification renewal forms to the office of the Secretary of
the State by depositing the same in the United States mail addressed to said office
as indicated on the certification renewal forms.

(d) Certification. The Secretary of the State shall renew the certification of
participants who have filed, or on whose behalf have been filed:

(1) Properly completed certification renewal forms;

(2) The participant’s current certification card; and

(3) A new certification card form.

(e) Falseinformation. False information contained in certification renewal forms
shall be considered grounds for refusal of certification renewal or cancellation
of certification.

(f) Duty to provide current information. A participant who changes his or her
name or confidential address from the name or address listed on the certification
renewa form shall provide written notification to the Secretary of the State not
later than thirty days after such change. Failure to do so shall be considered grounds
for cancellation of certification.

(Adopted effective March 23, 2005)

Sec. 54-240a-5. Forwarding of program participant’s mail

(8) Address requirements. First class mail, addressed to a participant, must
include the participant’s name, certification code and program address as shown on
the participant’s current certification card.

(b) Forwarding of first class mail. The Secretary of the State shall forward first
classmail, which hasbeen addressed in accordance with subsection (a) of thissection,
from the participant’s program address, to the participant’s confidential address.

(c) Mail returned asundeliverable. If forwarded mail isreturned to the Secretary
of the State as undeliverable, the Secretary of the State shall attempt to resend the
mail not later than one week after receipt. If the resent mail is returned to the
Secretary of the State, thefact that such mail has been twice returned as undeliverable
shall be considered grounds for cancellation of certification.

(d) Noncompliant mail. The Secretary of the State shall return to its sender:

(1) First class mail which has not been addressed in accordance with sub-section
(a) of this section;

(2) Mail other than first class mail; and
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(3) First class mail which has been returned to the Secretary of the State twice
as undeliverable.
(Adopted effective March 23, 2005)

Sec. 54-240a-6. Program certification withdrawal, cancellation and appeal
from cancellation

(a) Withdrawal. A participant may withdraw from the program in accordance
with section 54-240k of the Connecticut General Statutes.

(b) Cancellation. When grounds for cancellation exist, the Secretary of the State
may cancel a participant’s certification in accordance with section 54-240k of the
Connecticut General Statutes.

(c) Appeal of Cancellation. Not later than thirty days from the date notice of
cancellation was mailed by the Secretary of the State, a participant may submit a
written appeal of cancellation by depositing the same in the United States mail
addressed to the Secretary of the State as indicated on the notice. The appeal
shall address the reason(s) for cancellation, set forth in the notice, by explaining,
as applicable:

(1) Why the participant was unable to notify the Secretary of the State of changes
to the participant’s name or confidential address;

(2) Why the application for participation or renewal contained false information;

(3) Why the participant was unable to apply for renewal prior to expiration;

(4) Why mail forwarded to the participant was returned to the Secretary of the
State as undeliverable.

(d) Notice of decision. Not later than thirty days after receipt of an appeal of
cancellation, the Secretary of the State shall send a written notice of decision to
the participant.

(Adopted effective March 23, 2005)

Sec. 54-240a-7. Agency use of program addresses

(a) Request for use of program address. A participant may, at any time, request
that an agency use the program address as the participant’ sresidence, work or school
address. Such participant shall present his or her certification card to any agency
official creating a new record or updating an existing record pertaining to the
participant and request the use in such record of the program address appearing on
the certification card.

(b) Processing of requests. The agency official creating the new record, or
updating an existing record, shall process the participant’s request for use of the
program address in accordance with section 54-240h of the Connecticut General
Statutes.

(c) ACP request form. The Secretary of the State shall prescribe an ACP request
form for use by the agency when processing a participant’s request to use the
program address.

(d) Notification letter. In lieu of an ACP request form, the agency may notify
the Secretary of the State, in writing, when it has created or updated an existing
record pertaining to a participant. The notice shall be on agency |etterhead stationery
and shall contain the name of the participant, the participant’s certification code,
and the signature and title of the agency official.

(e) Completion and delivery of ACP request form or notification letter. The
agency official creating the new record, or updating an existing record, shall compl ete
an ACP reguest form or notification letter at the time the request is processed. The
agency official shal retain a copy of the ACP request form or notification letter,
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provide a copy to the participant, and forward the original to the ACP at P.O. Box
150469, Hartford, CT. 06115-04609.
(Adopted effective March 23, 2005)

Sec. 54-240a-8. Confidentiality of marriage records

(a) Requests for confidentiality of marriage records. Participants may request
that their marriage records be kept confidential in accordance with section 54-240f
of the Connecticut General Statutes.

(b) Processing of requests. Authorized personnel in the appropriate office of
the registrar of vital statistics shall process the program participant’s request for
confidentiality of marriage records in accordance with section 54-240f of the Con-
necticut Genera Statutes

(c) ACP request form. The Secretary of the State shall prescribe an ACP request
form for use by authorized personnel in the appropriate office of the registrar
of vita statistics when processing a participant’s request for confidentiality of
marriage records.

(d) Notification letter. In lieu of an ACP request form, the authorized personnel
in the appropriate office of the registrar of vital statistics may notify the Secretary
of the State, in writing, when he or she has processed a participant’s request for
confidentiality of marriage records. The notice shall be on the registrar of vital
statistic’s letterhead stationery and shall contain the name of the participant, the
participant’ s certification code, and the signature and title of the authorized personnel
in the appropriate office of the registrar of vital statistics.

(e) Completion and delivery of forms. The authorized personnel in the appro-
priate office of the registrar of vital statistics shall complete an ACP request form
or notification letter at the time the request is processed, and shall retain a copy of
the ACP request form or notification letter, provide a copy to the participant, and
forward the origina to the ACP at P.O. Box 150469, Hartford, CT. 06115-0469.

(f) Information release to law enforcement agency. A request from a law
enforcement agency for release of records in a participant’s file shall be in writing,
on agency letterhead stationery and signed by the agency’s chief law enforce-
ment officer.

(Adopted effective March 23, 2005)

Sec. 54-240a-9. Voting by program participants

(a) Requeststobelisted on voter registry list without street and housenumber.
A participant may request to belisted on avoter registry list without the participant’s
street and house number in accordance with section 54-240g of the Connecticut
General Statutes.

(b) Processing of requests. Authorized personnel in the appropriate office of the
registrar of voters shall process the program participant’s request in accordance
with section 54-240g of the Connecticut General Statutes.

(c) ACP request form. The Secretary of the State shall prescribe an ACP request
form for use by authorized personnel in the appropriate office of the registrar of
voters when processing a participant’ s request for confidentiality of his or her street
and house number.

(d) Notification letter. In lieu of an ACP request form, the authorized personnel
in the appropriate office of the registrar of voters may notify the Secretary of the
State, in writing, when he or she has processed a participant’s request to be listed
on avoter registry list without the participant’s street and house number. The notice
shall be on the registrar of voter’s letterhead stationery and shall contain the name
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of the participant, the participant’s certification code, and the signature and title of
the authorized personnel in the appropriate office of the registrar of voters.

(e) Completion and delivery of forms. The authorized personnel in the appro-
priate office of the registrar of voters shall complete an ACP request form or
notification letter at the time the request is processed, and shall retain a copy of the
ACP request form or notification letter, provide a copy to the participant, and
forward the original to the ACP at P.O. Box 150469, Hartford, CT. 06115-0469.

(f) Information release to law enforcement agency. A request from a law
enforcement agency for release of records in a participant’s file shall be in writing,
on agency letterhead stationery and signed by the agency’s chief law enforce-
ment officer.

(Adopted effective March 23, 2005)

Sec. 54-240a-10. Agency exemption requests

(d) Method of request. Agency exemption requests shall be made in accordance
with section 54-240i of the Connecticut General Statutes.

(b) Notice of exemption. The Secretary of the State shall send notification, as
provided in section 54-240i of the Connecticut General Statutes, to the participant’s

confidential address, by first class mail, prior to granting an exemption.
(Adopted effective March 23, 2005)

Sec. 54-240a-11. Service of process

A participant may be served as provided in section 54-2401 of the Connecticut
Genera Statutes.
(Adopted effective March 23, 2005)

Sec. 54-240a-12. Records requests to the Secretary of the State

(a) Information releaseto law enfor cement agency or State ElectionsEnfor ce-
ment Commission. A request from alaw enforcement agency or the State Elections
Enforcement Commission for release of any records in a participant’s file, other
than the program address, shall be in writing, on agency or commission letterhead
stationery and signed by the agency’s chief law enforcement officer, acommanding
officer in the Division of State Police within the Department of Public Safety or
the executive director of the State Elections Enforcement Commission. Such request
shall include the request date and the name of the participant.

(b) Verification of participation. A person may reguest verification of thepartici-
pation of a specific program participant by sending awritten request tothe Secretary
of the State. Such request shall be signed by the requestor andinclude the name of
the participant and the name of the requestor.

(c) Notice of disclosure. The Secretary of the State shall send notification to the
participant’ sconfidential address, by first classmail, on the sameday that information
is disclosed pursuant to subsection (b) of this section or pursuant to a court order.
Such notice shall include:

(1) Whether the disclosure was made pursuant to a court order or an individual’s
request;

(2) The name of the person to whom the disclosure was made; and

(3) The date on which the disclosure was made.
(Adopted effective March 23, 2005)
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